Available on Amazon
North Carolina was the birthplace of both Andrew Johnson, the 17th President of the United States, and Ava Gardner, the famous Hollywood actress.
Union County, located in the Piedmont region of North Carolina, has a rich history that dates back to the colonial era. The area was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Catawba and Waxhaw. European settlers began arriving in the 18th century, with Scotch-Irish and German immigrants establishing farms and communities.

In 1842, Union County was officially formed from parts of Mecklenburg and Anson counties. The county was named after the concept of "union" that prevailed during that time, reflecting the desire for unity and the end of sectional division. The county seat was established in Monroe, which remains the county's largest city and governmental center.

The Civil War had a significant impact on Union County, as many residents served in the Confederate Army. The Battle of Monroe took place in the city in 1865, resulting in the Union Army's victory. After the war, the area faced challenges during the Reconstruction era, but gradually recovered with the growth of agriculture, railroads, and industrialization.

Throughout the 20th century, Union County experienced notable advancements and expansions. The county's agricultural sector diversified, with the introduction of new crops and farming techniques. Education also played a significant role in the county's development, with the establishment of numerous schools and the growth of Wingate University. Today, Union County continues to thrive as a vibrant community, offering a mix of rural charm and modern amenities for its residents and visitors.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Union County, North Carolina.

  • 1749 - Union County is formed from parts of Anson County and Mecklenburg County.
  • 1762 - Waxhaw Presbyterian Church is founded.
  • 1823 - The county seat is established in Monroe.
  • 1852 - The Charlotte and South Carolina Railroad is completed, connecting Monroe to the rest of the state.
  • 1861-1865 - Union County residents actively participate in the American Civil War.
  • 1875 - The first telephone exchange is established in Monroe.
  • 1896 - The first electric streetlights are installed in Monroe.
  • 1911 - The Monroe Cotton Mills opens, becoming one of the largest textile mills in the state.
  • 1930s - Union County experiences significant population growth due to the Great Depression and the demand for cotton.
  • 1958 - Union County's first public library is established.
  • 1984 - The first Heritage Day Festival is held in Monroe.
  • 2000 - Union County's population surpasses 100,000.
  • 2017 - The new Union County Agricultural Center is opened.