Historical Markers in
Van Zandt County, Texas

A. L. Spradlin Log Cabin Adren Anglin Alamo Institute Allen Cemetery Asbury Cemetery Barren Ridge Battle of the Neches Ben Wheeler Community Benjamin Franklin Wheeler Bennett Joseph Carter Home Blackwell House Bowles, Cherokee Chief Brady P. Gentry Brick Streets of Wills Point Bruce & Human Drug Company C.S. Nicks Cadwell Walton Raines Camp Matthew F. Locke, C.S.A. Cane Syrup Production in Van Zandt County Canton: The Misplaced County Seat Carter Cemetery Cartwright School Cheatham Memorial United Methodist Church Cherokee Boundary Line Colfax Cemetery Coltharp-Beall House Cool Springs (Tundra) Corinth Baptist Church and School Corinth Cemetery Corinth Cemetery County Line Missionary Baptist Church County Seat War Cox Cemetery Creagleville Dallas-Shreveport Road Dipping Vat Dixie Hotel Edgewood Cemetery Edmund A. Wynne Edom Edom Methodist Church Elbert Gray Elm Grove Cemetery Elm Grove Union Church Fairview Cemetery and School Fin & Feather Hunting and Fishing Club First Baptist Church of Canton First Baptist Church of Edgewood First Baptist Church of Edom First Baptist Church of Wills Point First Christian Church of Wills Point First Methodist Church of Grand Saline First Monday Trades Day First National Bank of Wills Point First United Methodist Church of Canton Four Mile Lutheran Church Frontier Red Hill Cemetery George Washington Tull, Sr. Grand Saline C.S.A. Hayden Baptist Church High Cemetery Highland Cemetery Hillcrest Cemetery Hilliards of Canton Holly Springs Cemetery Holly Springs United Methodist Church Ingram Cemetery Isaac Van Zandt Jarman No. 1 Discovery Well John H. Reagan Jones Cemetery Jordans Saline Jose Francisco Calahorra y Saenz Lexie Dean Robertson Liberty Cemetery Little Hope Baptist Church Mars Community Marvin Chapel Cemetery McKain Family Home Mercer's Colony Eastern Boundary Mono School Morgan G. Sanders Morris Cemetery Morton Salt Company Building Mt. Pisgah Mt. Zion C. M. E. Church Myrtle Springs Schoolhouse New Hope Cemetery Oak Hill Cemetery Oakland Community Cemetery Old Bethel Cemetery Old First National Bank Building Oran Milo Roberts Phalba Philip Nolan Expeditions Into Spanish Texas Poletown and Rhodesburg Prairie Springs Cemetery Primrose-Sexton Community Providence Community Pruitt Baptist Church and Pruitt Community Pure Oil Company Camp Rose Fountain Roseland Plantation Home Rowden Cotton Russell Memorial United Methodist Church Sand Flat Community Shelby Expedition through Van Zandt County Site of 1896 Van Zandt County Courthouse Site of Burial of Neal Martin Site of C. W. Morris Cotton Gin Site of Friendship Community School Slaughter School Small Community and Cemetery Stanger Springs Church Starr Cemetery and School Swindall School T. Z. Woodhouse Residence The Canton Herald The Free State of Van Zandt Thomas Jefferson Towles Tidmore Cemetery Turner Baptist Church Tyler-Porter's Bluff Road Union Grove Cemetery Van Van Common School Van School, 1929-1947 Van United Methodist Church Van Zandt County Van Zandt County Courthouse Van Zandt County Poor Farm Van Zandt, Isaac and Francis Wallace United Methodist Church Wentworth Community Wesley Chapel Cemetery White Rose Cemetery Wiley Hardeman Post William A. Wills William H. Humphries Home Wills Point Schools Wynne & Wynne Law Office
Texas was once a part of Mexico but gained independence in 1836 after a famous battle at the Alamo.
Van Zandt County is located in the northeastern part of Texas and has a rich history dating back to the early 1800s. The area was initially settled by Native American tribes, including the Caddo and Cherokee. European settlers began arriving in the late 1830s and early 1840s, establishing communities along rivers and creeks.

The county was officially formed in 1848 and named after Isaac Van Zandt, a politician and diplomat who played a significant role in the establishment of the Republic of Texas. Throughout the mid-19th century, the economy of Van Zandt County was primarily agricultural, with cotton being the dominant crop. The construction of railroads in the late 1800s brought new opportunities for trade and commerce to the area.

In the early 20th century, Van Zandt County experienced a boom in oil production, which significantly impacted the local economy. This led to the growth of oil-related industries and the establishment of several oil towns within the county. However, the Great Depression and subsequent decline in oil prices had a detrimental effect on the area, leading to economic challenges during the 1930s and 1940s.

Over the years, Van Zandt County has continued to grow and develop. Today, it boasts a diverse economy that includes agriculture, manufacturing, and tourism. The county is known for its scenic beauty, and there are several recreational areas such as lakes and state parks that attract visitors. Van Zandt County also has a strong sense of community, with numerous festivals and events celebrating its history and culture.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Van Zandt County, Texas.

  • 1848 - Van Zandt County is established as one of the 36 original counties in Texas.
  • 1850 - The county seat is established in Canton.
  • 1861-1865 - Van Zandt County is heavily impacted by the American Civil War.
  • 1894 - The construction of the Texas State Railroad reaches Van Zandt County, boosting the local economy.
  • 1900 - An oil boom begins in the county, bringing new growth and prosperity.
  • 1921 - The Dallas-Fort Worth Turnpike is completed, connecting Van Zandt County to the metroplex.
  • 1930s-1940s - Van Zandt County suffers from the impacts of the Great Depression and World War II.
  • 1960s-1970s - The county experiences a period of economic growth and population increase.
  • 1980s - The county faces economic challenges due to declining oil prices.
  • 2000 - Canton becomes known for its First Monday Trade Days, attracting visitors from all over the state.