The Cherokee Nation is headquartered in Oklahoma and is one of the largest Native American tribes in the country. The tribe has a long and complex history in Oklahoma, including the forced removal of thousands of Cherokees from their ancestral lands in the 1830s, which became known as the Trail of Tears.
Marshall County, Oklahoma, is located in the southern part of the state and has a rich and varied history. The area was originally home to various Native American tribes, including the Chickasaw and Choctaw nations. European settlers began arriving in the early 19th century, attracted by the fertile soil and abundant natural resources.

In 1832, the Choctaw Indians were forcibly relocated to the area as part of the Indian Removal Act. They established towns and farms, and the region became known as the Choctaw Nation. The Choctaw people faced many struggles during this time, including disease outbreaks and conflicts with other tribes and settlers.

With the creation of Indian Territory in the 1830s, Marshall County became part of the Chickasaw Nation, which was also relocated to the area. The Chickasaw people built successful businesses, including cotton plantations and cattle ranches. They contributed to the development of the region's infrastructure, such as roads and schools.

In 1907, Oklahoma became a state, and Marshall County was formally established. Throughout the 20th century, the county experienced economic growth and development. Agriculture remained a significant industry, with the cultivation of crops like cotton and wheat. The discovery of oil in the 1920s brought further prosperity to the area, attracting oil companies and boosting the local economy.

Today, Marshall County continues to be a vibrant part of Oklahoma. Its rich history is celebrated, and the county is known for its natural beauty, recreational opportunities, and cultural events. As it embraces the future, Marshall County remains proud of its heritage and the contributions made by its early inhabitants.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Marshall County, Oklahoma.

  • 1907 - Marshall County is established when Oklahoma becomes a state.
  • 1908 - The town of Madill is founded as the county seat.
  • 1910 - The first courthouse in Marshall County is built in Madill.
  • 1930 - The population of Marshall County reaches its peak at around 19,000.
  • 1937 - The Cumberland Presbyterian Church in Madill is destroyed by a tornado.
  • 1941-1945 - Marshall County contributes to the war effort during World War II.
  • 1950s-1960s - The economy of Marshall County booms with the discovery of oil and gas.
  • 1974 - A devastating flood occurs in Marshall County, causing extensive damage.
  • 1995 - The city of Kingston suffers a major tragedy when a barge explosion kills several people.
  • 2003 - The opening of the Texoma Casino brings economic growth to Marshall County.
  • 2018 - The 50th anniversary of the Texoma Quarter Horse Association is celebrated in Marshall County.