Idaho played a key role in the development of atomic energy. During World War II, the federal government established the Idaho National Laboratory in eastern Idaho, which was used to research and develop nuclear technology. Today, the lab is one of the leading research facilities in the world for nuclear energy and other forms of advanced technology.
Madison County, located in the southeastern part of Idaho, has a rich history dating back thousands of years. The area was originally home to various Native American tribes, including the Shoshone and Bannock tribes, who relied on hunting and gathering for their livelihood.

In the early 19th century, European explorers and fur trappers, such as John Colter and Jim Bridger, began to venture into the region. The first permanent settlement was established in 1863, when a group of Mormon pioneers led by Milton R. Merrill settled in the area. This marked the beginning of the agricultural development and the establishment of small towns such as Rexburg and Sugar City.

Over the years, Madison County experienced steady growth and development. The arrival of the railroad in 1898 played a significant role in supporting the local economy, as it allowed for easier transportation of goods and people. Agriculture became a major industry, with crops like wheat, potatoes, and sugar beets flourishing in the fertile soil.

Madison County faced challenges during the Great Depression, like many other areas in the United States. However, it managed to recover and continued to prosper. Today, the county is known for its vibrant communities, thriving agricultural sector, and the presence of Brigham Young University-Idaho, a prestigious educational institution that has further contributed to the county's economic growth and cultural vibrancy.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Madison County, Idaho.

  • Established in 1913
  • Named after James Madison, the fourth President of the United States
  • Early settlers arrived in the mid-1800s
  • 1883: First post office opened in Rexburg
  • 1903: Madison County School District formed
  • 1913: Madison County officially organized
  • 1967: Teton Dam constructed in the southern part of the county
  • 1976: Teton Dam collapsed, causing significant flooding
  • 1999: Madison High School in Rexburg named a National Blue Ribbon School
  • Present: Madison County known for its agriculture and outdoor recreational opportunities