Available on Amazon
The world's largest music festival, Summerfest, takes place in Milwaukee each year. It has been held annually since 1968 and features over 800 acts performing on 11 stages over 11 days.
Pierce County, Wisconsin, located in the western part of the state, has a rich and vibrant history dating back to the 1800s. The county was officially established in 1853 and was named after Franklin Pierce, the 14th President of the United States. The area was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Dakota Sioux and Ojibwe.

Pierce County's early settlers were primarily of European descent, hailing from countries such as Germany, Norway, and Sweden. These settlers were drawn to the area due to its fertile soil and ample opportunities for farming. Agriculture quickly became the backbone of the county, with farmers cultivating crops like wheat, corn, and hay.

As the county developed, several towns and villages began to emerge. One of the most notable towns is Ellsworth, which became the county seat in 1857. Ellsworth grew rapidly due to its location on the St. Croix River, which facilitated trade and transportation. Other communities, such as River Falls and Prescott, also flourished as trading centers and hubs for industry.

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Pierce County experienced significant growth and progress. The construction of railroads opened up new opportunities for trade and transportation, and industries such as logging and manufacturing thrived. The county also saw advancements in education, with the establishment of several schools and the founding of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls in 1874.

Today, Pierce County continues to be a thriving community with a diverse economy. Agriculture remains an essential industry, with dairy farming, crop production, and livestock raising being major contributors. The county also boasts natural attractions, such as the beautiful Mississippi and St. Croix Rivers, which offer recreational activities like fishing, boating, and hiking. With its rich history and dedication to progress, Pierce County remains an integral part of Wisconsin's heritage.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Pierce County, Wisconsin.

  • 1830s: Native American tribes, including the Dakota and Ojibwe, were the first inhabitants of the area now known as Pierce County.
  • 1840s: The Treaty of St. Peters opened the region for European settlement.
  • 1849: Pierce County was officially established and named after President Franklin Pierce.
  • 1850s: Settlers began arriving in the county, primarily from the Eastern United States and Europe.
  • 1855: River Falls, the county seat, was founded and quickly became a prominent center for trade and commerce.
  • 1860s: The county experienced rapid growth, with the population increasing due to the establishment of various industries and the arrival of the railroad.
  • 1879: The Pierce County Courthouse was constructed in Ellsworth, replacing the previous courthouse in Prescott.
  • 1880s: Agriculture, particularly dairy farming, became the primary economic activity in the county.
  • 1919: The establishment of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls brought higher education to Pierce County.
  • 1930s: The Great Depression and the Dust Bowl had a significant impact on the county's economy, leading to agricultural hardships.
  • 1960s: The construction of Interstate 94 helped improve transportation and access to the county.
  • 1980s: The county experienced growth in manufacturing and services sectors, diversifying its economy.
  • 2007: Historic downtown districts in River Falls and Ellsworth were listed on the National Register of Historic Places.