The Seattle Space Needle, built for the 1962 World's Fair, was designed to withstand winds of up to 200 miles per hour and earthquakes of up to 9.0 magnitude.
Columbia County, Washington, is located in the eastern part of the state and has a rich history dating back thousands of years. Before the arrival of European settlers, the area was inhabited by Native American tribes, primarily the Nez Perce, Palus, and Walla Walla tribes. These tribes relied on the Columbia River for fishing and trade, and evidence of their presence can still be found in the form of petroglyphs and other archaeological sites.

The first European to explore the area was David Thompson, a fur trader with the North West Company, who arrived in the late 18th century. He was followed by other fur traders, including the Hudson's Bay Company, who established a trading post in the area. The fur trade brought a steady influx of settlers to the region, and in 1875, Columbia County was officially created.

The economy of Columbia County has historically been based on agriculture. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, wheat farming was the dominant industry, with large grain elevators built to store and transport the harvest. However, agricultural practices changed over time, and today the county is known for its diverse crops, including wheat, barley, lentils, and peas.

Throughout its history, Columbia County has faced challenges, including a devastating flood in 1948 that caused significant damage to the area. However, the county persevered and continued to grow and prosper. Today, it remains a beautiful and vibrant region, with a strong sense of community and a commitment to preserving its rich history.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Columbia County, Washington.

  • 1853: Columbia County is created by the Washington Territorial Legislature.
  • 1871: Dayton, the county seat, is established.
  • 1881: The first courthouse in Columbia County is built in Dayton.
  • 1882: The Dayton Chronicle newspaper is first published.
  • 1905: Columbia County experiences a major fire that destroys much of Dayton.
  • 1910: The town of Starbuck is incorporated.
  • 1930: The primary industry in Columbia County shifts to agriculture, including wheat farming.
  • 1955: A second courthouse is built in Dayton, replacing the original one.
  • 1984: The Columbia County Historical Society is founded to promote and preserve the county's history.
  • 2000: The County Courthouse in Dayton is added to the National Register of Historic Places.