Historical Marker in
Morgan County, Utah

The Utah State Capitol Building in Salt Lake City is home to a unique feature known as the "seagull room." The room is decorated with paintings and sculptures of seagulls in honor of the California gulls that helped the early settlers.
Morgan County is located in northeastern Utah and was originally inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Shoshone and Ute tribes. The area was first explored by European fur trappers and explorers in the early 19th century. In 1855, Mormon pioneers established the first permanent settlement in what is now Morgan County, driven by their desire to expand and establish agricultural communities. The county was officially organized on January 17, 1862, with Morgan City as its county seat.

In its early years, Morgan County primarily relied on agriculture, with settlers cultivating crops such as wheat, oats, and potatoes. However, the county also developed mineral resources, including coal and limestone, which played a significant role in its economic growth. The construction of railroads in the late 19th century further boosted the county's development, enabling easier transportation of goods and facilitating trade.

Over the years, Morgan County faced challenges such as droughts, fires, and economic downturns, but the community continued to grow and adapt. The early 20th century brought advancements in infrastructure, with the construction of roads and bridges improving connectivity within the county. In recent decades, Morgan County has seen changes in its economy, shifting from predominantly agricultural to a mixture of agriculture, manufacturing, and services. The county continues to embrace its rural character while experiencing gradual population growth and development. Today, Morgan County is known for its scenic landscapes, outdoor recreational opportunities, and close-knit community.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Morgan County, Utah.

  • The area that is now Morgan County was originally home to Native American tribes including the Shoshone and Ute tribes.
  • Exploration of the area by European settlers begins in the early 1800s.
  • 1847: The first group of Mormon pioneers, led by Brigham Young, pass through the area.
  • 1855: The first permanent settlements are established in the mountain valleys of Morgan County.
  • 1862: Morgan County is officially established, named after Jedediah Morgan Grant, a leader in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  • 1868: The town of Morgan is founded as the county seat.
  • Early 1900s: The town of Morgan experiences growth and development as a result of the thriving mining industry.
  • 1923: The present-day Morgan County Courthouse is built.
  • Late 1900s: Morgan County sees an increase in tourism due to its scenic landscapes and outdoor recreational opportunities.
  • Today, Morgan County continues to be a rural community with a strong sense of history and natural beauty.