Historical Markers in
Kane County, Utah

A Tragedy Adrian Booth Andrew Prine Anthony Quinn Audie Murphy Ava Gardner & Howard Keel Ben Cooper Ben Johnson Bob Hoy Bowman-Chamberlain House Brian Keith Bruce Boxleitner Buck Taylor Cemetery at Orderville Charlton Heston Chauncey "Chance" Parry Clint Eastwood Clint Walker Coleen Gray Dale Evans Dale Robertson Dan Duryea Dan Haggerty Daniel Boone Dean Smith Dennis Weaver Denny Miller Dick Jones Don Collier Don Knotts Don Shanks Dub Taylor Earl Bellamy Edward Faulkner Exploration and Colonization Fay Hamblin Forrest Tucker Fort Kanab George "Gabby" Hayes Glendale Glendale Orientation Center Glenn Ford Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument Gregg Palmer Gregory Peck Gronway "Gron" Parry Honeymoon Trail Howard W. Koch Isaac Behunin Israel and Charlotte Cox Heaton Jack Elam Jack Nicholson and Will Hutchins Jackie Hamblin Rife Jacob Hamblin James Drury James Garner James Hampton Jim Davis Joel McCrea John Ford John Smith John Wayne Johnny Western Kanab Forts Kanab Library Kanab Public Square Kanab's All-Women Council and Mayor Ken Curtis L. Q. Jones Linda Darnell Lisa Montell Marty Robbins Maureen O'Hara Millstones Morgan Woodward Neil Summers Old Rock Schoolhouse Orderville Bell Pahreah Paria Movie Set and Pahreah Town Site Paul Petersen Peggie Castle Penny Edwards People of the Land Peter Brown Peter Ford Powell Survey Randolph Scott Ray Milland and Helena Carter Richard Boone Robert Fuller Robert Horton Robert Taylor Rod Cameron Ronald Reagan Roydon Clark Settlement of Long Valley and Mt. Carmel / Dr. Priddy Meeks Sidney Poitier Ted Markland Tex Ritter The Academy The Academy Bell The Academy Bell The Berry Family The Historic Dixie-Long Valley, Utah Pioneer Trail The Kanab Chapel The Lone Ranger The Proud Rebel The Rat Pack The Ward Hall Tom Mix Town of Alton United Order Industries United Order Woolen Mill Virgil Riggs Virginia Mayo Whitney "Whit" Parry William A. Wellman
The state's official flower is the Sego Lily, a delicate white flower that grows in the state's mountain meadows.
Kane County, Utah is located in the southwestern part of the state and has a rich history dating back thousands of years. The area was initially inhabited by various Native American groups, including the Paiute and Anasazi tribes, who left behind ancient petroglyphs and cliff dwellings as evidence of their presence. European explorers and traders first arrived in the region in the 18th century, with Spanish expeditions venturing through the area.

In the mid-19th century, Mormon settlers began to establish communities in the region. The southern portion of Kane County was settled by Mormon pioneers led by Brigham Young, who sought to establish an agricultural society based on their religious beliefs. The town of Kanab, which would become the county seat, was founded in 1864 by Mormon leader Levi Stewart.

The early settlers faced challenges such as droughts, harsh winters, and conflicts with Native American tribes. However, they persevered and developed a thriving agricultural industry, with ranching and farming becoming the mainstays of the local economy. The settlers also established schools, churches, and other essential community institutions.

Over time, Kane County has become a popular destination for outdoor enthusiasts and tourists due to its stunning natural beauty and recreational opportunities. The county is home to several national parks and monuments, including Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, and Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. These natural wonders continue to draw visitors from around the world, contributing significantly to the county's economy through tourism and outdoor recreation.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Kane County, Utah.

  • 1776 - Kane County is part of the Spanish Empire's northern boundary
  • 1776-1848 - Kane County is part of Mexico after gaining independence from Spain
  • 1848 - Kane County becomes part of the United States after the Mexican-American War
  • 1864 - Kanab, the county seat, is settled by Mormon pioneers
  • 1872 - Kane County is officially established by the Utah Territory legislature
  • 1902-1904 - Construction of the historic Johnson Canyon and Gray Canyon Dams
  • 1937 - Bryce Canyon National Park is established, including part of Kane County
  • 1940s - Kane County becomes a popular filming location for Hollywood westerns
  • 1996 - Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument is established, covering a large portion of Kane County