The state's official bird is the California gull, which was declared the state bird in 1955. The gull is credited with helping early Mormon settlers by eating the insects that were destroying their crops.
Emery County, Utah, is a small rural county located in the eastern part of the state. Its history is deeply intertwined with the development of the American West and the growth of the mining industry.

The area now known as Emery County was first inhabited by Native American tribes such as the Ute and Paiute. In the 19th century, Mormon pioneers began settling in the region, drawn by the fertile lands and potential for agriculture. Emery County was formally established in 1880, named after George W. Emery, the governor of the Utah Territory at the time.

The mining industry soon became a significant economic force in the county. In the late 1800s, the discovery of valuable coal and uranium deposits attracted miners and entrepreneurs from all over the country. Towns like Castle Dale and Ferron grew rapidly as mining operations expanded. The coal mines in the region provided fuel for the growing railroad network and powered the industrial growth of nearby cities.

Emery County has also been a site of cultural and archaeological significance. The area is home to several petroglyph and pictograph sites, showcasing the ancient art of Native American tribes who inhabited the region for thousands of years. Additionally, the county is part of the spectacular San Rafael Swell, a geological formation appreciated for its stunning landscapes and recreational opportunities.

Today, Emery County continues to embrace its mining heritage while also becoming a tourist destination. Visitors can explore the stunning natural wonders, experience the rich Native American history, and engage in outdoor activities such as hiking, camping, and fishing. The county remains a unique blend of history, industry, and natural beauty.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Emery County, Utah.

  • 1850: European settlers arrive in Emery County.
  • 1877: The town of Castle Dale is settled.
  • 1880: Emery County is created and named after George W. Emery, the governor of Utah Territory.
  • 1881: The town of Emery is founded.
  • 1890: The first coal mine opens in the county.
  • 1900: The town of Ferron is established.
  • 1920: The population of Emery County reaches its peak due to coal mining.
  • 1940: Construction of Millsite Dam begins.
  • 1969: The San Rafael Swell is designated as a National Wilderness Study Area.
  • 1986: Goblin Valley State Park is established.
  • 1990: The population of Emery County declines significantly due to the decline of coal mining.
  • 2005: The San Rafael Swell is designated as a National Conservation Area.