Texas is known for its barbecue, and one of the most famous barbecue restaurants in the state is Kreuz Market in Lockhart. The restaurant has been in operation since 1900 and is still family-owned.
Walker County, Texas has a rich and diverse history that dates back to the early 1800s. The area was originally inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Caddo and Atakapa tribes, who lived off the land and hunted in the dense forests. The first European settlers arrived in the early 1830s, attracted by the fertile soil and abundant wildlife.

In 1836, Walker County was officially established and named after Samuel Hamilton Walker, a Texas Ranger captain who died in the Mexican-American War. The county became a hub for trade and commerce, with the town of Huntsville serving as the county seat. The early residents engaged in farming, ranching, and timber industries, which became the backbone of the local economy.

During the Civil War, Walker County played a significant role as a major supplier of food and provisions to the Confederate army. However, the county also faced its share of hardships, including raids by Union troops and the devastation caused by the war. After the war, Walker County experienced a period of reconstruction and gradual recovery.

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Walker County saw significant progress and development. The expansion of railroads brought new opportunities for trade and transportation, and the discovery of oil in the early 1900s further boosted the local economy. In recent decades, Walker County has continued to grow and evolve, embracing modern industries while preserving its unique heritage and natural beauty. Today, the county is known for its thriving educational institutions, correctional facilities, and vibrant community.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Walker County, Texas.

  • 1836: Walker County is established
  • 1846: Huntsville becomes the county seat
  • 1861: Walker County residents vote for secession from the Union
  • 1870: The Houston and Great Northern Railroad reaches Huntsville
  • 1900: The town of New Waverly is incorporated
  • 1936: Sam Houston State Teachers College is established
  • 1965: The Texas Department of Corrections is established in Huntsville
  • 1970: San Jacinto Mall opens in Baytown
  • 1999: The City of Huntsville celebrates its 150th anniversary
  • 2007: The Texas Department of Criminal Justice moves its headquarters to Huntsville