National Register Listings in
Todd County, South Dakota

The famous Mount Rushmore National Memorial, featuring the faces of U.S. presidents George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln, is located in South Dakota. It was built by artist Gutzon Borglum and his team between 1927 and 1941.
Todd County, South Dakota, located in the central part of the state, has a rich and complex history spanning several centuries. The region has been inhabited by indigenous peoples for thousands of years, with tribes such as the Lakota Sioux having a significant presence in the area. European settlers began arriving in the mid-19th century, leading to profound changes for the local population.

In the late 1860s, gold was discovered in the Black Hills, leading to an influx of miners and settlers into the region that is now Todd County. This sparked conflicts between the newcomers and the Lakota Sioux, who resisted the encroachment on their traditional lands. One of the most infamous events in Todd County's history is the Wounded Knee Massacre in 1890, where hundreds of Sioux men, women, and children were killed by U.S. soldiers. This tragic event marked a turning point for both the Lakota Sioux and the settlement of the area.

After the Indian Wars, many Sioux people were forced onto reservations, including the Rosebud Indian Reservation, which covers a significant portion of Todd County. The reservation system had a profound impact on the local Indigenous population, as it limited their traditional way of life and created significant socioeconomic challenges. Over the years, however, the Sioux people have persevered and continue to maintain their cultural heritage and traditions in Todd County.

Present-day Todd County is a diverse and vibrant community, with a population that includes a mix of Native American and non-Native American residents. The county's economy is primarily based on agriculture, with farming and ranching playing a significant role. Efforts have also been made to promote tourism, highlighting the region's natural beauty and cultural heritage. Despite the challenges faced throughout its history, Todd County remains an important part of South Dakota's cultural tapestry.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Todd County, South Dakota.

  • 1883: Todd County is established.
  • 1887: Mission becomes the county seat.
  • 1891: Railroad is built to Mission.
  • Early 1900s: The county experiences agricultural development.
  • 1933: The Todd County Courthouse is built.
  • 1948: The Rosebud Dam is constructed.
  • 1960s: The county faces challenges due to flooding and drought.
  • 1975: The American Indian Movement (AIM) is founded in Todd County.
  • 1990: Todd County becomes home to the Rosebud Sioux Tribe's tribal headquarters.