The Badlands National Park, located in southwestern South Dakota, is home to one of the world's richest fossil beds, containing the remains of ancient horses, rhinoceroses, and other prehistoric animals.
Lincoln County is located in southeastern South Dakota and has a rich history that dates back thousands of years. Before European settlement, the area was inhabited by various Native American tribes, such as the Yankton Sioux and Omaha tribes, who relied on the region's fertile land and abundant wildlife for sustenance.

European settlement in the area began in the mid-19th century with the arrival of fur traders and missionaries. In 1862, the Homestead Act opened up opportunities for settlers to claim land, and many families began to migrate to the region. The first European settler in the area was Joseph Beadle, who established a trading post along the Big Sioux River in what is now known as Canton.

The county itself was officially established in 1867 and was named after President Abraham Lincoln. Agriculture played a crucial role in the county's development, and settlers quickly began cultivating crops and raising livestock to sustain their communities. The completion of the Sioux City and Pacific Railroad in 1879 provided further economic growth and transportation options for the county.

Over the years, Lincoln County experienced various economic shifts and transformations. It saw the rise and decline of industries such as mining, timber, and manufacturing. However, with its fertile soil and proximity to larger cities like Sioux Falls, the agricultural sector remained the backbone of the local economy.

Today, Lincoln County continues to grow and prosper. The county is known for its vibrant communities, excellent schools, and strong agricultural industry. As a suburban area of Sioux Falls, it offers residents a balance between rural living and easy access to urban amenities. With its rich history and promising future, Lincoln County remains a significant part of South Dakota's heritage.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Lincoln County, South Dakota.

  • 1867 - Lincoln County is founded and named after President Abraham Lincoln.
  • 1868 - The first town in the county, Canton, is established.
  • 1873 - The first courthouse in Lincoln County is built in Canton.
  • 1894 - Lennox, the second incorporated town in the county, is founded.
  • 1907 - Tea, another town in Lincoln County, is established.
  • 1917 - Harrisburg becomes an incorporated town in the county.
  • 2000 - The population of Lincoln County reaches 25,000.
  • 2015 - The population of Lincoln County exceeds 46,000.
  • 2021 - Lincoln County celebrates its 150th anniversary.