South Carolina was the site of the first battle of the Civil War. In April 1861, Confederate forces fired on Fort Sumter, a federal fort located in Charleston Harbor. The bombardment lasted for 34 hours and resulted in the surrender of the fort to the Confederates.
Cherokee County, located in the state of South Carolina, has a rich and diverse history that spans several centuries. The area was originally inhabited by indigenous Native American tribes, including the Cherokee and Catawba nations. European settlers first arrived in the 18th century, and the county was officially established in 1897.

During the American Revolutionary War, Cherokee County was a focal point of conflict between Native American tribes and European colonists. The infamous Battle of Musgrove Mill took place in this area in 1780, as American Patriots successfully defended against a British and Loyalist attack, marking a turning point in the war.

The 19th century brought significant changes to Cherokee County, as the region became known for its mineral resources. The discovery of gold in the 1820s attracted many prospectors, leading to a boom in mining activities. However, the Civil War in the 1860s disrupted the mining industry, causing economic hardships for the county.

In the decades following the Civil War, Cherokee County experienced a period of economic revival. The textile industry became the driving force behind the county's growth, with numerous mills and factories established throughout the area. This industrialization brought jobs and prosperity to the region, contributing to its development and shaping its identity as an industrial hub.

Today, Cherokee County remains a place of historical importance, with sites such as the Overmountain Victory National Historic Trail and Cowpens National Battlefield preserving the area's Revolutionary War heritage. The county continues to adapt and evolve, balancing its industrial past with efforts to promote tourism, preserve its natural beauty, and provide opportunities for its residents.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Cherokee County, South Carolina.

  • The Cherokee people inhabited the area that would later become Cherokee County.
  • 1768: The Treaty of Hard Labor signed, resulting in the Cherokee ceding their lands in the region to the British.
  • 1777: The area became part of the Ninety-Six District in South Carolina.
  • 1791: Cherokee County was established as part of the larger Ninety-Six District.
  • 1828: Gold was discovered in Cherokee County, leading to a gold rush in the region.
  • 1830: The Indian Removal Act was passed, resulting in the forced removal of the Cherokee people from their ancestral lands.
  • 1838-1839: The Trail of Tears, the forced relocation of the Cherokee people to Indian Territory (present-day Oklahoma), resulted in the displacement and suffering of thousands of Cherokee.
  • 1897: The town of Gaffney was incorporated.
  • 1899: Cherokee County's first textile mill, Gaffney Manufacturing Company, began operations.
  • 1937: Cherokee County's most iconic landmark, the Peachoid water tower, was constructed in Gaffney.
  • Today, Cherokee County is a thriving community with a diverse economy and a rich cultural heritage.