The first land run in Oklahoma took place on April 22, 1889, when more than 50,000 people rushed to claim free land in the Unassigned Lands, which had been opened up for settlement by the federal government.
Roger Mills County is located in western Oklahoma, named after Roger Quarles Mills, a Texas state senator and prominent lawyer. The area that is now Roger Mills County was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Wichita and Cheyenne tribes. European settlers began to move into the region in the late 1800s, attracted by the promise of free land through the Homestead Act of 1862.

The county was officially established in 1892, with Cheyenne selected as the county seat. The early years of the county were challenging, with settlers facing harsh weather conditions and limited resources. However, the discovery of oil in the region in the 1920s brought prosperity to Roger Mills County. Oil companies established operations in the area, bringing jobs and economic growth.

Throughout the 20th century, Roger Mills County experienced both boom and bust periods. The county's economy relied heavily on oil and agriculture, with farmers cultivating wheat, cotton, and raising cattle. However, the region faced economic challenges during the Great Depression and later during the oil industry downturns.

Today, Roger Mills County is known for its natural beauty, including the picturesque landscapes of the Black Kettle National Grassland and the Washita Battlefield National Historic Site. Agriculture and energy remain important industries in the county, supporting the local economy. The county continues to preserve its rich history and promote tourism, offering visitors a glimpse into its past and a chance to explore its natural wonders.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Roger Mills County, Oklahoma.

  • 1875 - Roger Mills County is established
  • 1889 - Land run occurs
  • 1892 - County seat moves from Cheyenne to Redmoon
  • 1907 - Oklahoma becomes a state
  • 1911 - County seat moves back to Cheyenne
  • 1939 - Black Kettle National Grassland is established
  • 1981 - National Register of Historic Places includes the Cheyenne-Arapaho Agency
  • 2000 - National Register of Historic Places includes the Washita Battlefield National Historic Site