Historical Markers in
Murray County, Oklahoma

Oklahoma was originally home to many Native American tribes, including the Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole nations. These tribes were forcibly relocated to Oklahoma from their ancestral lands in the southeastern United States during the 1830s and 1840s in a tragic event known as the Trail of Tears.
Murray County, located in south-central Oklahoma, has a rich and diverse history that dates back thousands of years. The area was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Chickasaw, Choctaw, and Creek tribes. These tribes lived off the land and established thriving communities before European settlers arrived.

In the early 19th century, the United States government pursued a policy of Indian Removal, which resulted in the forced displacement of many Native American tribes. The Chickasaw tribe, who occupied the land that would become Murray County, were relocated to present-day Oklahoma as part of this policy. They eventually settled in the area permanently and established their own government.

Murray County was officially founded in 1907, when Oklahoma became a state. It was named after William H. Murray, a prominent politician and the first Speaker of the House for the Oklahoma Constitutional Convention. The county quickly developed into an agricultural hub, with farming and ranching becoming the primary industries. The discovery of oil in the early 20th century further fueled the county's economic growth.

Over the years, Murray County has experienced both challenges and successes. The Great Depression hit the area hard, causing many farms to fail and leading to widespread poverty. However, with the advent of World War II and subsequent economic recovery, the county experienced a resurgence. Today, Murray County is known for its natural beauty, including the Arbuckle Mountains and many recreational areas. The county continues to thrive through a combination of agriculture, tourism, and small businesses.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Murray County, Oklahoma.

  • 1907: Murray County is established as part of the state of Oklahoma.
  • 1911: The town of Sulphur is incorporated.
  • 1920: The area sees an oil boom, leading to rapid growth and economic development.
  • 1930s: The Great Depression impacts the area, causing significant economic hardship.
  • 1940s: Murray County becomes a popular tourist destination due to the natural beauty of its springs and parklands.
  • 1960s: The area experiences another economic boom with the discovery of additional oil and gas reserves.
  • 1970s: The Chickasaw National Recreation Area, located in Murray County, is established.
  • 1980s: The area expands its tourism industry, attracting visitors for outdoor activities and cultural events.
  • 2000s: Efforts are made to preserve and promote the rich Native American heritage and culture of the Chickasaw Nation.