Historical Marker in
Hughes County, Oklahoma

Oklahoma is home to the oldest continuously operated restaurant in the state. The Cattlemen's Steakhouse in Oklahoma City has been serving customers since 1910 and is known for its delicious steaks and western decor.
Hughes County, Oklahoma, located in the southeastern part of the state, has a rich history dating back to its establishment in 1907. Named after the 9th Governor of Oklahoma, William C. Hughes, the county boasts a diverse blend of indigenous history, pioneer settlement, and economic growth.

Prior to European settlement, the area that would become Hughes County was home to Native American tribes, including the Creek, Choctaw, and Seminole. The Indian Removal Act of 1830 led to the forced relocation of these tribes to Indian Territory, where they established settlements and built communities.

The land rush of 1889 brought white settlers to what is now Hughes County, seeking opportunity and a fresh start. The discovery of valuable natural resources in the area, including oil and natural gas, sparked a period of rapid growth and prosperity. Gypsy oil field, one of the largest in Oklahoma, was discovered in Hughes County in 1914, leading to a boom in oil production and attracting major oil companies to the area.

Over the years, Hughes County has faced its share of challenges. The Great Depression, droughts, and declining oil prices all took a toll on the county's economy. However, the resilient spirit of the community has seen it through these tough times, with agriculture and oil and gas industries remaining prominent pillars of the local economy.

Today, Hughes County continues to evolve and adapt to changing times while preserving its history and traditions. With its natural beauty, recreational opportunities, and rich cultural heritage, the county attracts visitors and residents alike. From the historical landmarks to the vibrant communities, Hughes County stands as a testament to the resilience and determination of its people.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Hughes County, Oklahoma.

  • 1907 - Hughes County is established as part of Oklahoma Territory.
  • 1909 - County seat is established in Holdenville.
  • 1921 - The city of Wetumka is incorporated.
  • 1924 - The town of Calvin is incorporated.
  • 1953 - Construction of the Holdenville Dam is completed.
  • 1972 - Hughes County Courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
  • 1982 - The town of Stuart is incorporated.
  • 1993 - The city of Dustin is incorporated.