Ohio is known as the "Mother of Presidents" because of its role in producing so many US presidents. In addition to the seven presidents who were born in Ohio, another president, William Henry Harrison, lived in Ohio for much of his life and is sometimes counted as an honorary Ohioan.
Morgan County, located in southeastern Ohio, has a rich history dating back to its founding in 1817. The area was originally inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Shawnee and Delaware tribes, who lived off the land and relied heavily on the surrounding rivers and forests for food and resources. European settlers began to arrive in the late 1700s, with the establishment of the first permanent settlement in present-day Morgan County around 1800.

In the early 19th century, Morgan County experienced significant growth and development. The area was known for its natural resources and fertile farmland, attracting settlers from across the country. The construction of the Muskingum River and Ohio Canal in the 1830s further stimulated the growth of the county by providing a means of transportation for goods and people. This canal system played a crucial role in the county's economy, allowing farmers and merchants to access new markets and expand their trade.

The mid-19th century brought both prosperity and hardship to Morgan County. The discovery of coal and oil in the region led to a boom in mining and drilling activities, bringing wealth and employment opportunities. However, the county also faced challenges during the Civil War, with many residents serving in the Union Army. The war not only disrupted the local economy but also left a lasting impact on the community.

In the 20th century, Morgan County continued to evolve, adapting to changes in technology and industry. The decline of coal mining and agricultural changes influenced the local economy, leading to a diversification of industries such as manufacturing, tourism, and healthcare. Today, Morgan County remains a rural and scenic area, known for its natural beauty and friendly communities.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Morgan County, Ohio.

  • 1817 - Morgan County is established on December 29.
  • 1820 - The county seat is established in McConnelsville.
  • 1870 - The Ohio Division of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad opens in McConnelsville.
  • 1885 - The village of McConnelsville is incorporated as a city.
  • 1940 - Wayne National Forest is dedicated in parts of Morgan County.
  • 1977 - The Morgan County Historical Society is established.
  • 1990 - A tornado hits McConnelsville, causing significant damage.
  • 2018 - The Ohio State Highway Patrol establishes a post in Malta.