Ohio was the birthplace of seven US presidents: Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, James A. Garfield, Benjamin Harrison, William McKinley, William Howard Taft, and Warren G. Harding.
Hardin County, Ohio has a rich and diverse history that spans centuries. The area was originally home to Native American tribes, including the Wyandot and Shawnee, who utilized the land for hunting and gathering. In the 1800s, European settlers began to arrive, and the county was officially established in 1820. The name "Hardin" was chosen in honor of John Hardin, a soldier who fought in the American Revolutionary War.

The early years of Hardin County were marked by rapid growth and development. The discovery of natural resources, such as rich fertile soil and limestone deposits, attracted settlers who established farms and constructed mills along the Blanchard River. The county's first permanent settlement was founded in 1817, and by the mid-1800s, several towns had emerged, including Kenton, the county seat.

Hardin County played a significant role in the Underground Railroad during the mid-19th century. Many abolitionists lived in the area and worked tirelessly to help enslaved individuals escape to freedom. The county's geographical location, situated between the Ohio River and Canada, made it a vital stop on the journey to freedom for countless fugitive slaves.

In the 20th century, Hardin County experienced further growth and industrialization. The discovery of oil and natural gas reserves led to the establishment of oil wells and petroleum refineries, which brought economic prosperity to the region. Today, Hardin County is a thriving community with a diverse economy that includes manufacturing, agriculture, and service industries. The county's rich history is honored through museums, historic landmarks, and a strong sense of community pride.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Hardin County, Ohio.

  • 1833 - Hardin County was established on April 1, 1833.
  • 1834 - The first county seat was designated as Kenton.
  • 1835 - The first courthouse, a log building, was constructed in Kenton.
  • 1853 - The current courthouse, a Greek Revival style structure, was built in Kenton.
  • 1881 - Ohio Northern University was founded in Ada.
  • 1883 - The first railroad reached Hardin County, connecting Kenton to the rail network.
  • 1950s - Agriculture became a major economic driver in the county.
  • 1990s - The county experienced growth in manufacturing and retail sectors.