Ohio is known as the "Mother of Presidents" because of its role in producing so many US presidents. In addition to the seven presidents who were born in Ohio, another president, William Henry Harrison, lived in Ohio for much of his life and is sometimes counted as an honorary Ohioan.

Fayette County, Ohio, is located in the southwestern part of the state. Its history dates back to the early 1800s when settlers began to populate the region. The county was officially established on March 1, 1810, named after Marie-Joseph Motier, Marquis de Lafayette, a French general who played a crucial role in the American Revolution. Initially, the county served as a sparsely populated agricultural community.

In the 19th century, Fayette County underwent significant developments. With the arrival of the railroad in the 1850s, the county's economy grew, connecting it to larger markets and bringing increased trade and commerce. The county seat, Washington Court House, became a bustling hub with the railroad's presence, attracting businesses and contributing to the county's prosperity.

During the Civil War, Fayette County played a significant role. Many of its residents joined the Union Army, and the county became a strong supporter of the Union cause. The county's agricultural abundance also played a crucial role in supplying food and provisions to the troops during the war.

In the 20th century, Fayette County experienced more economic diversification. The agriculture industry remained important, but manufacturing and other industries began to emerge. The county also saw advancements in education and healthcare, with the establishment of schools, hospitals, and other institutions. Today, Fayette County remains a predominantly rural area with a rich history and continues to be a vibrant community.

  • 1810: Fayette County is established on March 1, 1810.
  • 1811: The county's first courthouse is built in Washington Court House.
  • 1830: The population of Fayette County reaches around 8,000.
  • 1849: The county's first railroad, the Cincinnati and Xenia Railway, is completed.
  • 1856: Washington College, later renamed Washington University, is founded.
  • 1864: The Civil War impacts Fayette County, with many residents fighting for the Union Army.
  • 1882: The county's first telephone exchange is established in Washington Court House.
  • 1956: Fayette County Airport opens near Washington Court House.
  • 1971: The Fayette County Historical Society is founded.
  • 1994: The Fayette County Courthouse is added to the National Register of Historic Places.