Available on Amazon
The first-ever recorded baseball game was played in Hoboken, New Jersey, but the modern rules of the game were established in New York City in 1845 by the New York Knickerbocker Baseball Club.
Fulton County, located in upstate New York, has a rich and diverse history that dates back to before the colonial era. Originally inhabited by indigenous peoples, including the Mohawk and Mohican tribes, European settlement began in the early 18th century. The area became part of the Mohawk nation's territory, but tensions between indigenous peoples and European settlers increased in the following decades.

During the American Revolution, Fulton County played a significant role. The Battle of Johnstown in 1781 was a crucial turning point in the war, as it saw an American victory over British forces, securing the region for the colonists. After the war, the area experienced rapid growth and development. Iron and lumber industries thrived, and the Erie Canal's completion in 1825 further bolstered economic growth and trade.

Throughout the 19th century, Fulton County continued to flourish as its agricultural, manufacturing, and transportation sectors expanded. The arrival of the railroad in the mid-1800s connected Fulton County to larger markets, driving further industrialization. However, like many regions in the United States, Fulton County faced economic challenges during the Great Depression, which led to the closure of factories and a decline in population.

In recent years, Fulton County has focused on revitalizing its economy and attracting new businesses. Efforts have been made to promote tourism, particularly in the historic city of Johnstown, where visitors can explore landmarks related to the American Revolution era. Today, Fulton County offers a mix of history, natural beauty, and economic opportunities, providing a diverse and vibrant community for its residents.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Fulton County, New York.

  • 1772 - Fulton County is established as Tryon County, named after Governor William Tryon.
  • 1788 - Tryon County is divided into two separate counties: Montgomery County and Otsego County.
  • 1803 - A portion of Montgomery County is annexed to create Hamilton County.
  • 1838 - The northern part of Montgomery County is separated to form Fulton County, named after inventor Robert Fulton.
  • 1906 - The city of Gloversville is incorporated within Fulton County.
  • 1910 - The city of Johnstown is incorporated within Fulton County.
  • 1970 - The county government is relocated to a new facility in Johnstown.