The first permanent settlement in New Hampshire was established in 1623 by English fisherman and traders.
Sullivan County, located in southwestern New Hampshire, has a rich history dating back centuries. The area was initially inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Abenaki and Pennacook, who utilized the plentiful natural resources for hunting and gathering.

European settlement began in the late 18th century, with the town of Charlestown being incorporated in 1753. This marked the beginning of pioneer settlements throughout the county, which were primarily focused on agriculture, sawmills, and small-scale industries. These settlements expanded rapidly during the Revolutionary War period, and several towns were incorporated in the late 1700s and early 1800s.

The county was named after General John Sullivan, a Revolutionary War hero and the former president of New Hampshire, who played a significant role in the region's development. Sullivan County continued to grow throughout the 19th century, as the construction of railroads facilitated transportation and spurred industrialization. Numerous mills, factories, and farms thrived along the Connecticut River, which serves as the county's western boundary.

In the 20th century, Sullivan County faced economic challenges due to the decline of traditional industries such as agriculture and manufacturing. However, tourism emerged as a growing sector with the establishment of recreational areas, including Mount Sunapee Resort and Pillsbury State Park. Today, Sullivan County maintains a balance between its agricultural heritage, natural beauty, and recreational opportunities, making it a desirable place for residents and visitors alike.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Sullivan County, New Hampshire.

  • 1771 - Sullivan County is established as a county in the state of New Hampshire.
  • 1789 - The town of Newport is incorporated.
  • 1791 - The town of Claremont is incorporated.
  • 1827 - The town of Charlestown is incorporated.
  • 1837 - The town of Lempster is incorporated.
  • 1847 - The town of Unity is incorporated.
  • 1875 - The town of Acworth is incorporated.
  • 1876 - The town of Croydon is incorporated.
  • 1921 - The town of Cornish is incorporated.
  • 1947 - The town of Washington is incorporated.
  • 1969 - The town of Grantham is incorporated.
  • 1973 - The town of Sunapee is incorporated.
  • 1991 - The town of Goshen is incorporated.
  • 2000 - The town of Sullivan is incorporated.