New Hampshire was the first state to declare its independence from Great Britain and ratify the United States Constitution.
Coos County, New Hampshire, located on the northernmost part of the state, has a rich and fascinating history. The area was first inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Abenaki and Penacook peoples. In the early 18th century, European settlers began to arrive in the region, primarily from Massachusetts.

The settlement of Coos County began to take shape with the arrival of Colonel John Goffe in 1770. Goffe played a crucial role in attracting settlers to the area and developing early infrastructure. In 1803, Coos County was officially established, encompassing a vast and sparsely populated territory.

During the 19th century, the logging industry became vital to the region's economy. The vast forests of Coos County provided an abundance of timber, which was in high demand for construction and manufacturing throughout New England. This led to the establishment of several towns, such as Berlin and Gorham, as logging centers.

In the 20th century, Coos County went through significant changes. The decline of the logging industry and the rise of mechanization led to economic challenges for the region. However, Coos County also benefited from the creation of the White Mountain National Forest, which attracted tourists and outdoor enthusiasts to the area, supporting the growth of the tourism industry.

Today, Coos County remains a blend of natural beauty, historical significance, and a resilient community. It is known for its stunning landscapes, including the majestic White Mountains and the scenic Connecticut River. The county continues to value its natural resources, while also adapting to modern industries such as renewable energy and tourism, making it a unique and important part of New Hampshire's history and economy.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Coos County, New Hampshire.

  • 1760: Coos County is established by colonial Governor Benning Wentworth.
  • 1772: Town of Lancaster is incorporated, becoming the first town in Coos County.
  • 1805: The Northern Boundary of New Hampshire is officially declared, which includes Coos County.
  • 1824: Berlin is established as a separate town within Coos County.
  • 1840: Coos County's population reaches over 7,000 people.
  • 1853: Coos County's area is expanded due to the annexation of Carroll County's unincorporated area.
  • 1861: Woodsville becomes an incorporated village in Haverhill, Coos County.
  • 1876: The Mount Washington Cog Railway opens, providing access to the summit of Mount Washington in Coos County.
  • 1895: The town of Pittsburg is incorporated as the northernmost town in New Hampshire.
  • 1917: The Weeks Act is passed, allowing the federal government to purchase land for the White Mountain National Forest in Coos County.
  • 1947: The Treaty of Portsmouth is signed in Portsmouth, ending the Russo-Japanese War negotiations that were held in Coos County.
  • 1962: The Cog Railway in Coos County is designated a National Historic Engineering Landmark.