New Hampshire is the only state in the United States that does not have a mandatory seat belt law for adults.
Carroll County, located in the heart of New Hampshire, has a rich and fascinating history that stretches back many centuries. The first recorded inhabitants of the area were the Abenaki Native American tribes, who lived in the region long before European settlers arrived. These tribes thrived on the abundant resources provided by the lakes and forests, and their presence greatly influenced the development of Carroll County.

European explorers, including Samuel de Champlain and John Smith, first arrived in the area in the early 1600s, but it was not until the 18th century that permanent European settlement began. In 1765, the town of Wolfeboro was established, becoming the county's oldest town. Over the next several decades, the other towns that now make up Carroll County were gradually established.

The 19th century brought significant growth and change to Carroll County. Agriculture, particularly dairy farming and logging, became important economic activities. The construction of the railroad in the mid-1800s spurred further development and connected Carroll County to larger markets. Tourism also began to flourish, with visitors drawn to the county's scenic lakes and mountains.

In the 20th century, Carroll County continued to evolve. The advent of the automobile made the region more accessible and further boosted tourism. Ski resorts were developed, attracting winter sports enthusiasts. Additionally, the county experienced a growth in population and the establishment of thriving communities, contributing to its prosperity.

Today, Carroll County is known for its stunning natural beauty, charming towns, and recreational opportunities. It remains an important destination for visitors seeking outdoor activities, history, and the unique charm of New Hampshire's Lakes Region.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Carroll County, New Hampshire.

  • 1771: Carroll County is established by the state of New Hampshire.
  • 1773: The first European settlers arrive in the area.
  • 1820: The town of Conway is incorporated.
  • 1827: The town of Ossipee is incorporated.
  • 1840: The town of Wolfeboro is incorporated.
  • 1852: The town of Moultonborough is incorporated.
  • 1870: The Mount Washington Cog Railway begins operation.
  • 1874: The town of Tamworth is incorporated.
  • 1889: The town of Madison is incorporated.
  • 1915: The town of Tuftonboro is incorporated.
  • 1940: The town of Effingham is incorporated.
  • 1960: The town of Sandwich is incorporated.
  • 1991: The town of Albany is incorporated.
  • 2006: The town of Freedom is incorporated.