Nebraska has a unique unicameral legislature, which means it has only one house of representatives instead of the traditional two houses found in most states.

Seward County, Nebraska has a rich history that dates back to the mid-1800s when European settlers arrived in the area. The county was named after William H. Seward, the Secretary of State under President Abraham Lincoln, and played an important role in the westward expansion of the United States.

In 1856, the town of Seward was established and became the county seat. Seward quickly grew as a center for trade and agriculture, attracting more settlers to the area. The population grew steadily, and by the late 1800s, Seward County was a thriving community with schools, churches, and a bustling downtown area.

During the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the county experienced various economic changes. Agriculture was the main industry, with farmers cultivating vast areas of land for crops such as corn, wheat, and soybeans. Livestock farming also thrived, with dairy farms and cattle ranches becoming important contributors to the local economy.

In the mid-20th century, Seward County underwent significant social and technological transformations. The construction of highways and railways improved transportation and facilitated the growth of industries like manufacturing and retail. Seward County also became home to Concordia University, a private Lutheran institution that was founded in the early 20th century and continues to be a prominent educational institution in the county.

Today, Seward County remains a thriving community with a diverse economy that includes agriculture, manufacturing, education, and healthcare. The county still retains its small-town charm while embracing modern developments and opportunities for growth.

  • 1855 - Seward County is established by the Nebraska Territorial Legislature.
  • 1868 - City of Seward is founded and becomes the county seat.
  • 1870 - The first courthouse is built in Seward.
  • 1873 - The Burlington and Missouri River Railroad arrives in Seward County, spurring growth.
  • 1879 - Concordia University is established in Seward.
  • 1884 - The Seward County Courthouse is destroyed by fire.
  • 1886 - A new courthouse is built in Seward.
  • 1904 - Seward County experiences a devastating tornado that damages the courthouse.
  • 1905 - Another courthouse is constructed in Seward.
  • 1926 - The Seward County Courthouse is again destroyed by fire.
  • 1927 - The current courthouse is built in Seward.
  • 1930s - Seward County is impacted by the Great Depression.
  • 1950s - Agriculture remains a significant industry in Seward County.
  • 1976 - Seward County Historical Society is formed to preserve the county's history.
  • 1990s - Seward County experiences population growth and economic development.
  • 2005 - The Seward County Courthouse is designated as a Nebraska State Historical Site.
  • 2010 - Seward County celebrates its 150th anniversary.