Omaha was the birthplace of Malcolm X, the civil rights activist and leader of the Nation of Islam.
Madison County, Nebraska has a rich history dating back to its establishment in 1867. The area was home to several Native American tribes, including the Omaha, Ponca, and Pawnee, who relied on the fertile land along the Elkhorn River for hunting and farming.

European explorers, fur traders, and settlers began arriving in the 1800s, leading to the establishment of small communities in the area. The region experienced rapid growth with the arrival of the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the 1860s, which brought increased opportunities for trade and commerce.

Madison County's economy initially relied on agriculture, particularly corn and livestock farming, which took advantage of the region's fertile soil. The county's population continued to grow steadily, and by the early 1900s, towns like Norfolk became thriving centers of trade and industry.

Over the years, Madison County faced challenges such as natural disasters and economic fluctuations, but it has remained resilient. Modern advancements, including the construction of highways and the arrival of technology and manufacturing industries, have continued to shape the county's progress.

Today, Madison County preserves its past through historical sites, museums, and events that celebrate its pioneer spirit and connection to the land. The county remains committed to fostering a vibrant community and promoting economic growth, while also preserving its unique heritage.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Madison County, Nebraska.

  • 1841 - Madison County established
  • 1857 - Battle Creek founded
  • 1871 - Norfolk founded
  • 1875 - Madison incorporated as a town
  • 1878 - Battle Creek incorporated as a village
  • 1881 - Norfolk incorporated as a city
  • 1882 - Tilden founded
  • 1890 - Stanton founded
  • 1892 - Newman Grove incorporated as a village
  • 1912 - Humphrey founded
  • 1919 - Meadow Grove incorporated as a village
  • 1921 - Hoskins founded
  • 1951 - Norfolk Junior College established
  • 1954 - Leigh founded
  • 1954 - Madison becomes a city
  • 1962 - Battle Creek becomes a city
  • 1962 - Norfolk becomes a consolidated city-county
  • 1970 - Newman Grove becomes a city
  • 1982 - Humphrey becomes a city
  • 1990 - Battle Creek celebrates centennial
  • 2010 - Madison County celebrates 150 years