Available on Amazon
North Dakota was the birthplace of several famous figures, including author Louis L'Amour, entrepreneur Harold Hamm, and actress Angie Dickinson.
Divide County is located in the northwestern region of North Dakota and was established on April 9, 1910. The county was named after the divide between the Missouri River and Rainy Butte Creek. Originally part of Williams County, the area experienced an influx of settlers during the early 1900s due to the promise of agricultural opportunities and the discovery of oil.

The history of Divide County is intertwined with the development of its communities. Cities such as Crosby and Fortuna played a significant role in the county's growth and development. Crosby, the county seat, was founded in 1906 and quickly became a prominent trading center for the surrounding agricultural and oil-producing regions. Fortuna, established in 1911, was initially a railroad stop before it transformed into another thriving community.

The discovery of oil in the early 1950s brought a new wave of economic prosperity to Divide County. The Williston Basin, located to the west, became a major center for oil exploration, leading to increased drilling activity and the establishment of oil-related industries. This oil boom significantly impacted the county's population and economy, resulting in increased employment opportunities and population growth.

In recent years, Divide County has faced challenges associated with the fluctuation of oil prices and the decline in drilling activity. Despite these challenges, the county continues to be an important agricultural and energy-producing region. The area's rich history, from its early settlement to its oil boom days, is a testament to the resilience and determination of the people who call Divide County home.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Divide County, North Dakota.

  • 1910 - Divide County is established by the North Dakota State Legislature.
  • 1920 - The population of Divide County reaches its peak at over 10,000 residents.
  • 1936 - The Divide County Courthouse is built, becoming a prominent landmark.
  • 1951 - Oil is discovered in Divide County, leading to an economic boom.
  • 1980 - The population of Divide County starts declining due to economic factors.
  • 2006 - Divide County celebrates its centennial anniversary.
  • 2019 - Divide County continues to be a rural, agricultural community.