Available on Amazon
North Carolina is home to the largest private residence in the United States, the Biltmore Estate, which was built by George Vanderbilt in Asheville in the late 1800s.
Macon County, located in the western part of North Carolina, has a rich history that dates back thousands of years. The area was originally inhabited by Cherokee Native Americans, who lived off the land and had an established culture and way of life. However, with the arrival of European explorers and settlers in the 18th century, the Cherokee were forcibly removed from their lands through the Trail of Tears.

In 1828, Macon County was officially formed and named after Nathaniel Macon, a popular statesman from North Carolina. The county quickly grew with the discovery of gold in the 1830s, attracting prospectors and miners from all over. This led to a period of economic boom, with the establishment of mining towns such as Franklin and gold mines that operated for several decades.

During the American Civil War, Macon County faced divided loyalties, with some residents supporting the Union while others joined the Confederate cause. The area experienced several skirmishes, and a notable event was the Battle of Franklin in 1864, where Confederate forces successfully defended the town against Union troops. After the war, Macon County faced the challenges of Reconstruction, which included the rebuilding of infrastructure and the integration of newly freed slaves into society.

In the 20th century, Macon County continued to evolve and develop. The creation of the Nantahala National Forest in 1920 brought new opportunities for outdoor recreation and tourism. The county continued to be influenced by industries such as agriculture, timber, and manufacturing. Today, Macon County remains a popular destination for outdoor enthusiasts, with its beautiful landscapes, hiking trails, and waterfalls, as well as a vibrant cultural scene with museums, art galleries, and a strong sense of community pride in its history.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Macon County, North Carolina.

  • 1828 - Macon County is formed, named after Nathaniel Macon, a prominent North Carolina statesman.
  • 1833 - The county seat is established in Franklin.
  • 1851 - The Nantahala Post Office is established.
  • 1861-1865 - Macon County residents actively participate in the American Civil War, with many serving in the Confederate Army.
  • 1870 - The Western North Carolina Railroad reaches Franklin, promoting growth and development in the area.
  • 1881 - The first courthouse in Franklin is completed.
  • 1884 - The first public school opens in Franklin.
  • 1896 - The Cowee Tunnel is completed, connecting Franklin to Murphy and aiding transportation in the region.
  • 1925 - The Great Smoky Mountains National Park is established, encompassing parts of Macon County.
  • 1930s - The Works Progress Administration (WPA) and Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) undertake various projects, improving infrastructure in Macon County.
  • 1950 - The Nantahala National Forest is established, further preserving the natural beauty of the region.
  • 1981 - The Franklin Gem and Mineral Museum opens, showcasing the area's rich geological heritage.
  • 2004 - Macon County Historical Society is founded, dedicated to preserving the county's history and heritage.