Available on Amazon
North Carolina was the site of the first gold rush in the United States, in the early 1800s. The town of Charlotte was named after Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, the wife of King George III of England.
Currituck County, located in northeastern North Carolina, has a fascinating history deeply rooted in its coastal environment. The area was originally home to Native American tribes, including the Algonquin-speaking Carolina Algonquians. European exploration of the region began in the late 16th century, led by Spanish and French explorers. However, it was the English who eventually established the first permanent settlements in the early 17th century.

In 1668, Currituck County was officially established as a precinct of Albemarle County, one of the original three counties in the Carolina Colony. The name "Currituck" is derived from the Algonquian word "coratank," meaning "land of the wild goose." The county's coastal location made it a vital hub for trade and commerce throughout the 17th and 18th centuries, with maritime industries like fishing, farming, and shipbuilding thriving.

During the American Revolution, Currituck County, like many others in the region, played a crucial role in the fight for independence. The county saw military actions, including the Battle of Great Bridge in nearby Virginia in 1775, and locals played active roles as soldiers, patriots, and supporters of the cause.

In the 19th century, Currituck County's economy continued to revolve around its natural resources, particularly fishing, hunting, and agriculture. The county's treacherous maritime environment also led to the establishment of the famous Currituck Beach Lighthouse in 1875, designed to guide ships safely along the coast. Today, Currituck County remains a beautiful coastal area with a rich history, offering visitors a glimpse into the past while enjoying its scenic landscapes and charming communities.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Currituck County, North Carolina.

  • 1663 - Currituck County is established as a precinct of Albemarle County.
  • 1723 - Currituck County becomes a separate county.
  • 1739 - The first courthouse is built in Currituck County.
  • 1764 - The first Currituck lighthouse is built to guide ships along the coast.
  • 1776 - Currituck County residents support the American Revolution and establish a militia.
  • 1857 - The current Currituck Beach Lighthouse is constructed.
  • 1873 - Currituck County's population reaches its peak at over 6,000 residents.
  • 1881 - Fall school session begins at the first Currituck County School House.
  • 1929 - The Wright Memorial Bridge opens, connecting Currituck County to the Outer Banks.
  • 1971 - The Currituck County Rural Center is established as a historical and cultural museum.