National Register Listing in
Teton County, Montana

The Battle of the Little Bighorn, also known as Custer's Last Stand, took place in Montana in 1876. It was a significant battle in the Sioux Wars and was fought between the United States Army and a coalition of Native American tribes, including the Lakota, Northern Cheyenne, and Arapaho.
Teton County, Montana, located in the northwestern part of the state, has a rich history that dates back to the early 19th century. The area was originally inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Blackfeet and Shoshone. In the early 1800s, European explorers, such as Lewis and Clark, began to explore the region, establishing contact with the native populations.

In the latter half of the 19th century, the arrival of settlers brought significant changes to Teton County. The discovery of gold in nearby areas, such as the Helena and Butte regions, attracted many prospectors to the area, leading to increased settlement. Ranching and agriculture also became important industries, with settlers establishing homesteads and cultivating land.

Teton County was officially established on February 7, 1893. It was named after the Teton Mountain Range, which extends into the county. The county seat was established in the town of Choteau, which had grown as a trading hub and transportation center. In the early 20th century, the construction of railroads further improved transportation and facilitated the growth of the area.

Throughout the 20th century, Teton County continued to develop. The area became known for its natural resources, including abundant timber and fertile land for farming. The economy diversified, with the tourism industry growing in importance due to the county's proximity to the Rocky Mountains and Glacier National Park. Today, Teton County remains a vibrant and picturesque area, attracting visitors with its natural beauty and offering a diverse range of recreational activities.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Teton County, Montana.

  • 1805 - The Lewis and Clark Expedition passes through the future Teton County area.
  • 1860s - Fur trappers and traders establish settlements in the region.
  • 1870 - The municipality of Choteau is founded.
  • 1882 - Teton County is officially established.
  • 1909 - The Great Northern Railway reaches Choteau, boosting the local economy.
  • 1910s - Homesteading attracts settlers to the area.
  • 1928 - The Rocky Mountain Front becomes part of the Lewis and Clark National Forest.
  • 1940s - Teton County experiences an agricultural boom.
  • 1978 - The Bob Marshall Wilderness Complex is established, including parts of Teton County.
  • 1990 - The Sun River Wildlife Management Area is established in Teton County.