Montana was the first state to elect a woman to Congress, Jeannette Rankin, who was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1916. She was a pacifist and voted against the entry of the United States into both World War I and World War II.
Sanders County, located in the western part of Montana, has a rich and vibrant history that spans centuries. The area was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Salish and Kootenai tribes, who lived off the land and relied on the abundant natural resources for their sustenance.

In the late 1800s, the arrival of European settlers and the completion of the Northern Pacific Railroad brought significant changes to the region. The town of Thompson Falls, named after explorer David Thompson, was established as a trading post, and quickly became a hub for logging and mining activities. These industries fueled the local economy and attracted more settlers to the area.

Over the years, Sanders County saw several boom-and-bust cycles, with mining operations flourishing and then declining as resources depleted. The county was also home to several sawmills, taking advantage of the surrounding forests. Despite the challenges faced by these industries, the county persevered and adapted to changing economic conditions.

Today, Sanders County is known for its stunning natural beauty and outdoor recreational opportunities. With its vast wilderness areas, including the Cabinet Mountains Wilderness and the Ross Creek Cedars, the county attracts visitors from around the world who come to enjoy hiking, fishing, camping, and wildlife viewing. The local communities continue to thrive, with a focus on preserving the county's natural resources and promoting sustainable development for future generations to enjoy.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Sanders County, Montana.

  • 1864 - Gold was discovered in Sanders County, leading to a gold rush and the establishment of mining camps.
  • 1869 - The first permanent settlement, Thompson Falls, was established.
  • 1881 - Sanders County was officially organized and named after Wilbur Fisk Sanders, a pioneer and U.S. Senator from Montana.
  • 1882 - The Montana Central Railway reached Sanders County, boosting its economic development.
  • 1905 - The construction of power dams on the Clark Fork River began, providing hydroelectric power to the county.
  • 1924 - The Thompson Falls Dam was completed, creating a reservoir and further enhancing the county's power generation capabilities.
  • 1938 - The U.S. Forest Service established the Cabinet National Forest, preserving vast areas of timberland in Sanders County.
  • 1955 - The Noxon Rapids Dam was completed, further contributing to the county's hydroelectric power production.
  • 1983 - The Sanders County Historical Society was formed to preserve and promote the county's history and heritage.
  • 1994 - The Kootenai River white sturgeon fish hatchery was opened, supporting conservation efforts for the endangered sturgeon species.