The University of Montana, located in Missoula, is one of the oldest universities in the western United States, founded in 1893. It is known for its strong programs in creative writing, wildlife biology, and environmental studies.
Carter County, Montana, is located in the southeastern part of the state and has a rich history dating back to the early 1800s. The area was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Sioux, Crow, and Cheyenne. European explorers, such as the Lewis and Clark expedition, passed through the region in the early 19th century.

The first permanent settlement in Carter County was established in the 1880s with the arrival of homesteaders. These settlers were primarily ranchers and farmers attracted to the fertile land and abundant grazing opportunities. The county was officially established in 1917 and named after Thomas H. Carter, a prominent Montana senator.

In the early 20th century, the discovery of coal and coal mining became a significant industry in Carter County. Several coal mines were established, bringing an influx of miners and their families to the region. The town of Ekalaka, the county seat, thrived during this time, with businesses, schools, and other infrastructure developing to support the growing population.

Carter County faced its fair share of challenges over the years, including economic downturns and natural disasters like severe droughts and wildfires. Despite these hardships, the county has persevered and remains an important agricultural center, known for its cattle ranching and wheat farming. Today, Carter County is a close-knit community that values its history and natural resources, with a strong commitment to preserving the area's rural character and proud heritage.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Carter County, Montana.

  • 1867 - Carter County was established as a part of the Dakota Territory.
  • 1886 - The first European settlers arrived in the area.
  • 1889 - Carter County became a part of the new state of Montana.
  • 1901 - Ekalaka, the county seat, was established.
  • 1919 - The Carter County Museum was founded.
  • 1935 - The Medicine Rocks State Park opened to the public.
  • 1950 - The first oil well was drilled in Carter County.
  • 1961 - Coal mining began in the county.
  • 1984 - The Ekalaka Public Library was built.
  • 2006 - A tornado hit parts of Carter County, causing significant damage.