The Mayo Clinic, a world-renowned medical center, was founded in Rochester, Minnesota in 1864.
Wabasha County, located in southeastern Minnesota, has a rich history that dates back thousands of years. The area was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Dakota and Winnebago, who relied on the Mississippi River for transportation and sustenance. European settlers arrived in the early 19th century, with the first permanent settlement established in 1843 by Felix St. Vrain.

Wabasha County saw significant growth during the mid-19th century due to the logging industry. Lumber mills were constructed along the Mississippi River, capitalizing on the vast timber resources in the area. The town of Wabasha became the county seat in 1854, and its economy flourished with the logging and shipping industries. However, over-logging led to the decline of the lumber industry, forcing the county to diversify its economy.

Agriculture soon became the backbone of Wabasha County's economy. Farmers began cultivating the fertile land, growing crops such as corn, soybeans, and wheat. The county's agricultural industry continued to thrive throughout the 20th century, with the implementation of modern farming techniques and technology.

Today, Wabasha County is known for its charming small towns, scenic landscapes, and vibrant tourism industry. The county offers a wide range of recreational activities, including fishing, hiking, and boating along the Mississippi River. It is also home to the National Eagle Center, which attracts visitors from around the world. Despite its transformation over the years, Wabasha County remains a testament to its rich history and prides itself on preserving its cultural heritage.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Wabasha County, Minnesota.

  • 1849 - Wabasha County, MN is established, named after the chief of the Dakota Sioux Native American tribe.
  • 1850 - The first settlers arrive in Wabasha County.
  • 1851 - The city of Wabasha is platted and becomes the county seat.
  • 1852 - The first public school in Wabasha County opens.
  • 1855 - The town of Lake City is founded.
  • 1857 - The Wabasha County Courthouse is built.
  • 1862 - Wabasha County sends soldiers to fight in the American Civil War.
  • 1867 - The Wabasha Eagle newspaper is established.
  • 1870 - The railroad reaches Wabasha County, opening up transportation and trade opportunities.
  • 1875 - Wabasha County's population reaches over 10,000.
  • 1895 - The B.A. Kennedy Flour Mill is built in Plainview.
  • 1920 - The population of Wabasha County reaches its peak at over 20,000.
  • 1933 - The Great Depression impacts the county's economy.
  • 1941 - The United States enters World War II, and many residents of Wabasha County enlist.
  • 1955 - The Mississippi Bridge in Reads Landing collapses and is rebuilt.
  • 1971 - Wabasha County Historical Society is established.
  • 2001 - The National Eagle Center opens in Wabasha, showcasing the area's bald eagle population.
  • 2019 - Wabasha County celebrates its 170th anniversary.