The first skyway system in the United States was built in Minneapolis in 1962, allowing for indoor pedestrian travel between buildings in the downtown area.
Marshall County is located in the state of Minnesota and has a rich and diverse history. Its story begins with the Native American tribes, including the Ojibwe, Sioux, and Mandan, who inhabited the region for centuries. European explorers and fur traders began arriving in the area in the 18th century, establishing trade relationships and influencing the native way of life.

The formal history of Marshall County began when it was established on February 20, 1879, named after William Rainey Marshall, a prominent politician from Minnesota. Early settlers were attracted to the region due to its fertile land and access to the Red River, which served as a major transportation route. Agriculture quickly became the primary industry, with farmers cultivating wheat, oats, and flax.

Over the years, Marshall County faced various challenges, including fires that destroyed many early settlements and severe weather conditions that tested the resilience of its inhabitants. Despite these obstacles, the county persevered and developed thriving communities, such as Warren, the county seat, and several smaller towns like Alvarado, Argyle, Oslo, and Stephen.

Today, Marshall County continues to be primarily agrarian, with farming and agribusiness playing a crucial role in its economy. The county also boasts scenic landscapes and opportunities for outdoor recreational activities, including fishing, hunting, and boating, thanks to its proximity to Lake of the Woods and the Red River. With its unique history and vibrant communities, Marshall County remains an important part of Minnesota's cultural fabric.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Marshall County, Minnesota.

  • 1858: Marshall County is established as a county in the Minnesota Territory.
  • 1882: The first railroad line, the St. Paul and Manitoba Railroad, is completed in Marshall County.
  • 1883: The county seat is established in Warren, Minnesota.
  • 1896: The Norwegian Evangelical Lutheran Church is founded in New Folden, Minnesota.
  • 1907: The town of Argyle is incorporated.
  • 1915: The city of Viking is incorporated.
  • 1923: The Karlstad State Bank fire incident occurs, destroying the bank and many records.
  • 1949: The Middle River Centennial Celebration takes place to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the first settlers arriving in the area.
  • 1977: The Marshall County State Wildlife Management Area is established.
  • 1997: A major flood hits Marshall County, causing significant damage to homes and infrastructure.
  • 2008: The Marshall County Historical Society is formed to preserve and promote the history of the county.