Maine was the first state to adopt Prohibition: Maine was the first state to adopt Prohibition in 1851, almost 70 years before the rest of the country followed suit. However, it was also one of the first states to repeal Prohibition, doing so in 1934.
Somerset County, ME has a rich history dating back thousands of years. Prior to European settlement, the region was home to several Native American tribes, including the Wabanaki Confederacy. These tribes thrived on the county's abundant natural resources, such as fish, game, and timber.

European settlers began arriving in the late 18th century, with the area experiencing significant growth during the 19th century. The Kennebec River played a vital role in the county's development, serving as a transportation route for goods and people. The construction of dams and mills along the river, particularly in towns like Skowhegan, brought about economic prosperity and led to the rise of the logging industry.

Somerset County was formally established in 1809, carving out land from Kennebec County. The county was named after Somerset County in England, honoring Sir Thomas Somerset, a British army officer. In the years that followed, Somerset County continued to thrive as logging and farming became dominant industries. The county's rich soil supported agriculture, while its vast forests provided timber for construction and manufacturing.

In the early 20th century, Somerset County faced economic challenges as the logging and textile industries declined. However, the construction of hydroelectric power stations along the Kennebec River brought about a new era of energy production. Today, Somerset County remains an integral part of Maine's rural and natural landscape, offering a blend of history, natural beauty, and recreational opportunities for both residents and visitors.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Somerset County, Maine.

  • 1760: Somerset County is incorporated as part of the Province of Massachusetts Bay.
  • 1789: The area is officially organized as Somerset County, named after Somerset County in England.
  • 1809: The town of Augusta becomes the county seat.
  • 1844: An act of the Maine Legislature splits Somerset County, creating Franklin County.
  • 1862: The town of Skowhegan becomes the new county seat.
  • 1885: The Mercer and Smithfield Plantations are annexed to Somerset County.
  • 1925: Parts of Somerset County are transferred to Aroostook County, resulting in boundary changes.
  • 1971: Construction of the Wyman Hydroelectric Station begins on the Kennebec River.
  • 1980: Somerset County celebrates its bicentennial.