Maine was once part of New France: In the 17th and 18th centuries, the area that is now Maine was part of New France, which was a French colony in North America that included parts of what are now the United States and Canada.
Franklin County is located in the state of Maine, USA. It was first settled by European colonists in the late 18th century, primarily by English and Scottish immigrants. The area was originally part of Cumberland County until it was established as a separate county in 1838.

The county's early economy was based on agriculture and lumbering. The fertile soils of the region allowed for successful farming, with crops like potatoes, hay, and corn being grown. Lumbering was also a major industry, with vast forests providing ample resources for the construction and shipbuilding industries.

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Franklin County saw a boom in the manufacturing sector. Numerous mills and factories were built along the county's rivers, harnessing the power of water to fuel their operations. Products such as paper, textiles, shoes, and furniture were produced, providing employment opportunities to the local population.

The decline of the manufacturing sector in the mid-20th century had a significant impact on Franklin County. Many industries closed down or scaled back their operations, leading to job losses and a decline in population. However, the county has since diversified its economy, focusing on tourism, outdoor recreation, and healthcare services. The beautiful lakes, rivers, and mountains of Franklin County attract outdoor enthusiasts, while the county's healthcare facilities provide essential services to local residents and visitors alike. Today, Franklin County remains a picturesque and vibrant community with a rich history and a resilient spirit.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Franklin County, Maine.

  • 1776 - Franklin County is established
  • 1789 - Farmington is incorporated as a town
  • 1806 - Industry is incorporated as a town
  • 1844 - Wilton is incorporated as a town
  • 1854 - Strong is incorporated as a town
  • 1855 - Jay is incorporated as a town
  • 1860 - Freeman is incorporated as a town
  • 1870 - Kingfield is incorporated as a town
  • 1937 - Mount Abram is incorporated as a plantation
  • 1939 - Carrabassett Valley is incorporated as a plantation
  • 1955 - Rangeley is incorporated as a town
  • 1971 - Carthage is incorporated as a town
  • 1971 - Chesterville is incorporated as a town
  • 1971 - New Sharon is incorporated as a town