The Boston Molasses Disaster occurred in 1919 when a large tank of molasses burst and flooded the streets of Boston's North End, killing 21 people and injuring 150.
Nantucket County, located in Massachusetts, has a rich and fascinating history that spans several centuries. Originally inhabited by the Wampanoag Native Americans, Nantucket saw its first European settlers in the 17th century. In 1659, the island was incorporated as a part of New York, but it soon came under the jurisdiction of Massachusetts in 1692.

During the 18th century, Nantucket thrived as a center for the whaling industry. The island's strategic location made it ideal for ships to embark on lengthy whaling expeditions, resulting in a booming economy and a wealth of resources. Nantucket's seafaring culture played a significant role in shaping the island's identity, as well as its architecture and traditions.

However, the decline of the whaling industry in the mid-19th century brought about significant changes for Nantucket. As petroleum replaced whale oil as the primary source of fuel, the demand for whaling diminished, leading to an economic downturn on the island. The once-prosperous whaling town became isolated and struggled to adapt to the changing times.

In the 20th century, Nantucket experienced a revival as it transformed into a popular tourist destination. The island's captivating beaches, charming downtown area, and rich history attracted visitors from across the country. Today, Nantucket County maintains its historical charm while embracing the economic opportunities brought about by tourism, making it a vibrant and thriving community.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Nantucket County, Massachusetts.

  • 1602: Nantucket Island is first sighted by English explorer Bartholomew Gosnold.
  • 1659: Nantucket Island is officially settled by English settlers.
  • 1671: The town of Nantucket is incorporated.
  • 1692: Nantucket becomes part of the newly formed Province of Massachusetts Bay.
  • 1727: Nantucket County is established as one of the four original counties of the Province of Massachusetts Bay.
  • 1765: The Nantucket Whale Fishery is established, marking the beginning of the island's dominant industry.
  • 1820: Nantucket's population reaches its peak with over 10,000 residents.
  • 1849: The Great Fire of Nantucket destroys much of the town's historic downtown area.
  • 1854: The Nantucket Historical Association is founded to preserve and promote the island's history.
  • 1898: The Nantucket Railroad, a narrow-gauge railway, begins operation.
  • 1918: The end of whaling era due to decline in whale population and increased competition.
  • 1966: Nantucket is designated as a National Historic Landmark district.
  • 1985: The Nantucket Maria Mitchell Association is formed to honor the island's renowned astronomer.
  • 1999: Nantucket County becomes a consolidated government with the town of Nantucket.