National Register Listings in
LaSalle Parish, Louisiana

The Louisiana State Capitol building, located in Baton Rouge, is the tallest capitol building in the United States. It stands at 450 feet tall and has 34 floors.

LaSalle Parish is located in the central part of Louisiana and was officially established in 1910. However, the area has a long history that dates back to the early Native American inhabitants. It is known that Native American tribes, such as the Choctaw and Caddo, had settlements in the region long before the arrival of European explorers.

In the 18th century, French explorers, including René-Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle, and his expedition, explored the area that is now LaSalle Parish. The French established trading posts and had interactions with the Native American tribes in the region. After the Louisiana Purchase in 1803, the area came under American control.

The first settlers of European descent began arriving in the early 19th century, primarily from neighboring states such as Mississippi and Alabama. They established small communities and engaged in agriculture, primarily cotton farming. The arrival of the railroad in the late 19th century further boosted the region's economic development, allowing for easier transportation of goods and resources.

During the 20th century, LaSalle Parish experienced significant growth and development. The discovery of oil and natural gas reserves in the area led to an oil boom in the 1920s, providing employment opportunities and attracting new residents. Today, LaSalle Parish is primarily an agricultural and forestry-based economy, with cotton, soybeans, corn, and timber being the main industries.

Overall, LaSalle Parish's history is a blend of Native American heritage, French exploration, and subsequent European settlement, leading to the growth and development of a thriving community with a rich agricultural and industrial heritage.

  • 1804 - LaSalle Parish is established as a county in the Orleans Territory.
  • 1812 - Louisiana becomes the 18th state of the United States.
  • 1912 - The town of Jena is incorporated.
  • 1920 - Urania Fuels Corporation begins logging operations in the parish, leading to economic growth.
  • 1927 - LaSalle Parish Courthouse is built in Jena as the new seat of government.
  • 1930s - The Great Depression hits LaSalle Parish, causing substantial hardship for many residents.
  • 1948 - The LaSalle Academy is established in Jena as a private school.
  • 1960s - Civil rights movement reaches LaSalle Parish with local activism and desegregation efforts.
  • 1991 - Catahoula Lake Wildlife Management Area is designated as a protected area.
  • 2000 - LaSalle Parish experiences population growth due to improved infrastructure and job opportunities.
  • 2010 - LaSalle Parish celebrates its bicentennial.