The word "Kentucky" is derived from the Native American word "ken-tah-ten," which means "land of tomorrow."
Union County, Kentucky has a rich history that dates back to the 18th century. The area was originally inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Shawnee and Cherokee. In the late 1700s, European settlers began to move into the region, attracted to the fertile farmland and abundant natural resources. Early settlers faced challenges from Native American raids and land disputes, but ultimately persevered and established a thriving community.

The county was officially formed in 1811 and was named after the concept of "union" between the states during the formation of the United States. In its early years, agriculture played a vital role in the local economy, with crops like tobacco and corn being prominent. The county's rich soil and favorable climate made it an ideal location for farming, and the agricultural industry was a significant contributor to the county's growth.

During the 19th century, Union County experienced an economic boom as coal mining became a major industry. The discovery of coal reserves in the area attracted workers and businesses, leading to the establishment of several mining towns. The mining industry brought prosperity and growth to the county, with new businesses, schools, and infrastructure developing to support the growing population.

In the 20th century, Union County continued to evolve and adapt to changing times. The decline of the coal industry in the mid-20th century brought challenges to the county's economy, but the community rebounded by diversifying its industries. Today, Union County is known for its agriculture, manufacturing, and tourism sectors. The county's historical significance is celebrated through preservation efforts, with several historical sites and museums honoring its past. Overall, Union County's history is a testament to the resilience and resourcefulness of its people, who have embraced change and built a strong and vibrant community.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Union County, Kentucky.

  • 1811: Union County is established by the Kentucky General Assembly.
  • 1839: The county seat is moved from Morganfield to Sturgis.
  • 1844: Sturgis is renamed to Uniontown.
  • 1861-1865: Union County is directly affected by the American Civil War.
  • 1884: The county courthouse in Uniontown is destroyed by fire.
  • 1890: A new courthouse is built in Morganfield, and it becomes the county seat again.
  • 1966: The Green River locks and dam are completed, providing economic development opportunities for the county.
  • 2014: Union County celebrates its bicentennial anniversary.