Historical Markers in
Robertson County, Kentucky

In 1937, the town of Maysville, Kentucky, became the site of the first public works project built under President Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal program.
Robertson County, located in northeastern Kentucky, has a rich history dating back to its establishment in 1867. Prior to its official formation, the area was inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Shawnee and Cherokee. European settlers began moving into the region in the late 18th century, attracted by the fertile land and abundant natural resources.

The county was named after George Robertson, a prominent Kentucky politician and judge. Throughout its history, Robertson County has primarily been an agricultural community, with farming and livestock playing vital roles in the local economy. The early settlers relied on farming to sustain their livelihoods, growing crops such as tobacco, corn, and wheat.

In the 19th century, Robertson County saw growth and development with the construction of roads and the arrival of the railroad, which facilitated transportation and trade. The county's population continued to increase, and by the early 20th century, several small towns had emerged, including Mount Olivet, the county seat.

Robertson County also played a role in the Civil War, experiencing some military action and serving as a recruitment center for both Union and Confederate forces. Despite the conflicts of the time, the county rebounded and continued to develop, diversifying its economy and becoming known for its rural charm and friendly communities.

Today, Robertson County remains a predominantly rural area, with agriculture as an essential industry. The county's rich history is celebrated through various events and festivals, providing a glimpse into its past while embracing the strength and resilience of the community that has shaped Robertson County into what it is today.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Robertson County, Kentucky.

  • 1777 - Robertson County was established as part of Kentucky County
  • 1780 - The county became part of Bourbon County
  • 1836 - Robertson County was formed as a separate county
  • 1853 - The county seat was established in Mount Olivet
  • 1861-1865 - Robertson County residents participated in the American Civil War
  • 1900s - Agriculture, particularly tobacco farming, became a major industry in the county
  • 1950s - The decline of the tobacco industry led to economic challenges in the county
  • Present - Robertson County continues to be a predominantly rural and agricultural community