Available on Amazon
The largest non-nuclear explosion in US history occurred in 1958 in Fleming County, Kentucky, when a natural gas storage cavern exploded, killing several people and destroying nearby homes.
Mason County, located in the northeastern part of Kentucky, has a rich history that dates back to its establishment in 1788. The county was named after George Mason, the influential Virginia statesman who is best known for his drafting of the Virginia Declaration of Rights. The land that would become Mason County was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Shawnee and Cherokee.

In the late 18th century, European settlers began arriving in the area and established a permanent settlement known as Limestone (later renamed Maysville). This strategic location on the Ohio River made Maysville a significant transportation and trading hub. The early economy of Mason County was centered around agriculture, with tobacco being the primary cash crop, along with hemp and flax.

During the 19th century, Mason County played a prominent role in the development of the American frontier. It was a key stop on the Underground Railroad, with many escaped slaves finding refuge and assistance from local abolitionists. The county was also known for its prominent citizens, including Albert Sidney Johnston, a Confederate general during the Civil War, and Rosemary Clooney, the famous actress and singer.

In the 20th century, Mason County continued to evolve with the establishment of industries such as glass manufacturing, automobile manufacturing, and oil refining. Today, the county remains an important agricultural region, known for its production of corn, soybeans, and tobacco. It also boasts a rich cultural heritage, with several historic sites and festivals that celebrate its diverse history.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Mason County, Kentucky.

  • 1788 - Mason County was established as one of the nine original counties in the Kentucky Territory.
  • 1794 - Maysville, the county seat of Mason County, was founded.
  • 1807 - The Maysville Road was authorized by the federal government, connecting Maysville to Lexington.
  • 1811 - The Old State Capitol, also known as the Kentucky Gateway Museum Center, was built in Maysville.
  • 1830s - Maysville became a significant crossing point for steamboats on the Ohio River.
  • 1849 - The Maysville and Lexington Railroad was completed, providing a new transportation option.
  • 1856 - Construction of the Paxton Inn, a notable antebellum hotel, was completed in Maysville.
  • 1861-1865 - Mason County residents actively participated in the American Civil War.
  • 1888 - The Simon Kenton Memorial Bridge, connecting Maysville to Aberdeen, Ohio, was completed.
  • 1932 - The historic Washington Opera House reopened after renovations and became a center for entertainment.
  • 1997 - The John H. Knauf Masonic Hall was added to the National Register of Historic Places.