Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States, was born in Hodgenville, Kentucky, in 1809. His birthplace is now a National Historical Park.
Magoffin County, Kentucky has a rich and storied history that dates back to its formation in 1860, named after the distinguished politician and Governor, Beriah Magoffin. The county was originally part of Floyd County, but due to its growing population and distance from the county seat, it was decided to establish a separate county. The area has a strong Native American presence, with several tribes, including the Shawnee and Cherokee, hunting and trading in the region.

During the Civil War, Magoffin County faced divided loyalties, much like the rest of Kentucky. The county was mostly pro-Confederate, but there were also Union sympathizers. The conflict caused tensions and resulted in several skirmishes in the area. After the war, the county faced economic challenges, with the decline of the salt industry and limited transportation options, hindering its growth.

In the early 20th century, Magoffin County saw some progress with the establishment of schools, churches, and infrastructure. However, the county remained predominantly rural, relying on agriculture and timber as its main economic activities. The Great Depression hit the county hard, exacerbating an already struggling economy.

In recent years, Magoffin County has made efforts to diversify its economy and improve infrastructure. The county has focused on promoting tourism and outdoor activities, utilizing its natural beauty and Appalachian heritage. Additionally, various community development projects have aimed to improve education, healthcare, and infrastructure. Despite its challenges, Magoffin County continues to work towards a brighter future while cherishing its historical roots.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Magoffin County, Kentucky.

  • 1790s: Kentucky becomes a state
  • 1803: Magoffin County is established as part of Floyd County
  • 1843: Magoffin County is officially formed and named after Governor Beriah Magoffin
  • 1861-1865: Magoffin County experiences the American Civil War
  • 1893: First railroad line is completed in Magoffin County
  • 1930s: Magoffin County is greatly affected by the Great Depression
  • 1963: Magoffin County Public Library is established
  • 1967: The John C.C. Mayo Memorial Library is built
  • 2004: Magoffin County is hit by a devastating flood
  • 2012: The Magoffin County Historical Society is established