The town of Elizabethtown, Kentucky, was the birthplace of Colonel Harland Sanders, the founder of Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC).

Franklin County, located in the state of Kentucky, has a rich and storied history that dates back to the late 18th century. The county was officially established in 1795 and was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, one of the founding fathers of the United States. The area was initially settled by pioneers seeking new opportunities in the fertile lands of the Bluegrass region.

In the early years of its history, Franklin County played a significant role in the development of Kentucky as a state. It served as the temporary capital of Kentucky from 1792 to 1794, before the capital was moved permanently to the current location of Frankfort. The county has always maintained a close relationship with Frankfort, with many government buildings and offices located in Franklin County.

The development of the bourbon industry in the 19th century also played a vital role in the history of Franklin County. The county was home to several distilleries, including the famous Buffalo Trace Distillery, which is one of the oldest operating distilleries in the United States. With its fertile soil and ideal climate, Franklin County became known as the "Bourbon County" of Kentucky, producing some of the finest bourbon in the nation.

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Franklin County experienced significant growth and development. The construction of railways and the expansion of industry brought economic prosperity to the area. The county became known for its manufacturing and processing industries, including tobacco, textiles, and automotive parts. Today, Franklin County continues to be an important center of commerce and industry in Kentucky, while also preserving its rich history and cultural heritage.

  • 1785: Franklin County is officially established on December 14.
  • 1792: Kentucky becomes the 15th state, with Franklin County as one of its original counties.
  • 1794: The town of Frankfort is officially established as the county seat.
  • 1810: The first state capitol building is completed in Frankfort.
  • 1839: The Old State Capitol building, now a historic site, is completed.
  • 1861: During the American Civil War, Frankfort serves as the temporary capital of the Confederate government of Kentucky.
  • 1865: The Old Governor's Mansion, now a museum, is completed.
  • 1909: The new Kentucky State Capitol building is completed.
  • 1936: The Forks of Elkhorn Baptist Church, established in 1783, is added to the National Register of Historic Places.
  • 1984: Buffalo Trace Distillery, one of the oldest continuously operating distilleries in the United States, is added to the National Register of Historic Places.