Available on Amazon
Kentucky was originally part of Virginia and was known as the "Kentucky County" until it became a separate state in 1792.
Calloway County, KY, located in western Kentucky, has a rich history that dates back to the early 19th century. The area was first settled by European settlers in the late 18th century, attracted by its fertile land and natural resources. The land that is now Calloway County was primarily inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Chickasaw and Shawnee.

In 1822, Calloway County was officially established and named after Colonel Richard Callaway, a prominent pioneer from Virginia. The county quickly grew and flourished, with agriculture playing a vital role in its economy. The fertile soil supported large-scale farming, mainly focused on tobacco, corn, and later, wheat.

Throughout the 19th and early 20th centuries, Calloway County experienced significant growth and development. The completion of the railroad in the late 19th century brought increased connectivity and trade opportunities, contributing to the county's economic progress. The establishment of Murray State University in 1922 also played a crucial role in the county's development, attracting students, academics, and a range of cultural and sporting events.

Calloway County has a diverse and vibrant community, with a strong emphasis on education and agriculture. Today, it remains an important agricultural center, known for its production of tobacco, corn, soybeans, and livestock. The county continues to embrace its history while adapting to the challenges and opportunities of the modern era, ensuring a promising future for its residents.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Calloway County, Kentucky.

  • 1822: Calloway County, KY, is established by the Kentucky General Assembly.
  • 1823: The county is named in honor of Colonel Richard Callaway, a prominent early settler.
  • 1842: Murray, the county seat, is established and becomes a hub of economic activity.
  • 1859: The completion of the Memphis, Clarksville and Louisville Railroad enhances transportation in the county.
  • 1861-1865: Calloway County is affected by the American Civil War.
  • 1870s: Agriculture flourishes in the county, with tobacco and corn being major crops.
  • 1892: The Murray State Normal School, precursor to Murray State University, is established.
  • 1937: Kentucky Dam is completed, creating Kentucky Lake and further developing the tourism industry.
  • 1942-1945: Calloway County contributes to the war effort during World War II.
  • 1968: Murray State University achieves university status.
  • 2000s: Calloway County experiences population growth and economic diversification.