National Register Listings in
Comanche County, Kansas

Dwight D. Eisenhower, the 34th President of the United States, was born in Denison, Texas, but grew up in Abilene, Kansas.
Comanche County, Kansas, located in the southwestern part of the state, has a rich history deeply rooted in the Native American tribes that once inhabited the region. Before European settlement, the area was inhabited by the Comanche and Kiowa tribes. The famous Battle of Adobe Walls between the Comanches and a group of buffalo hunters took place near what is now St. Marks in 1874, leaving a lasting impact on the region.

In the late 19th century, white settlers began to move into Comanche County, seeking opportunities in agriculture and ranching. Settlement was slow due to the lack of water resources, but as more settlers arrived and irrigation systems were developed, farming became more viable. Farmers primarily grew corn, wheat, and sorghum, while cattle ranching also became a prominent industry.

The county was officially established in 1873 and named after the Comanche tribe. It quickly grew, and by the early 20th century, small towns such as Coldwater, Protection, and Wilmore began to emerge as the county's economic centers. These towns provided essential services to the surrounding agricultural community, including general stores, schools, and churches.

Over time, Comanche County faced challenges such as droughts, dust storms, and economic fluctuations. However, the resilience and perseverance of its residents allowed the county to adapt and continue thriving. Today, Comanche County remains a predominantly rural area, known for its beautiful landscapes, rich cultural history, and strong sense of community.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Comanche County, Kansas.

  • 1803 - The area that would later become Comanche County is acquired by the United States as part of the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1825 - The Santa Fe Trail is established, passing through what would become Comanche County.
  • 1867 - The Medicine Lodge Treaty is signed, opening up the area to settlement by European-Americans.
  • 1869 - Comanche County is officially organized and named after the Comanche Native American tribe.
  • 1874 - The Red River War begins between the United States Army and various Native American tribes, including the Comanche.
  • 1893 - The Cherokee Outlet land run takes place, attracting settlers to the region.
  • 1905 - The discovery of oil in the area leads to an economic boom in Comanche County.
  • 1912 - Comanche County's current courthouse is built.
  • 1930s - The Dust Bowl devastates agriculture in Comanche County, leading to significant economic hardship.
  • 1950s-1960s - The rural population of Comanche County declines due to changing agricultural practices and urbanization.
  • 2005 - Comanche County celebrates its 136th anniversary.