The first public school system in the United States was established in Indiana in 1852. The state was also home to the first kindergarten in the United States, which was founded in 1873 by a German immigrant named Margarethe Schurz.

Vermillion County, Indiana, is located in the western part of the state and has a rich history dating back to the early 1800s. The area was originally inhabited by Native American tribes such as the Miami and Shawnee, who used the land for hunting and trading. European settlers began arriving in the early 19th century, leading to the establishment of Vermillion County in 1824.

The county was named after the Vermilion River that flows through it, which gets its name from its reddish color caused by the iron oxide in the soil. The river played a significant role in the county's early development, serving as a transportation route for trade and eventually the construction of canals and railways.

During the mid-19th century, Vermillion County experienced rapid growth with the discovery of coal deposits in the area. Coal mining became a major industry, attracting workers from all over the country. The county's population boomed, and several towns, including Clinton, Cayuga, and Newport, were established to support the mining operations.

In the late 1800s and early 1900s, Vermillion County experienced both prosperity and challenges. The coal industry continued to thrive, but labor disputes and economic downturns caused occasional disruptions. The county also saw significant growth in agriculture, especially corn and soybean production. Today, Vermillion County retains its rural character while embracing its historical roots and focusing on agriculture and tourism as key economic drivers.

  • 1816 - Vermillion County is established.
  • 1819 - The first courthouse is built in Newport.
  • 1826 - The town of Eugene is founded.
  • 1828 - The county seat is moved from Newport to Perrysville.
  • 1830 - The Wabash and Erie Canal reaches Vermillion County, leading to economic growth.
  • 1851 - The town of Clinton is platted and becomes the new county seat.
  • 1861-1865 - Vermillion County residents participate in the American Civil War.
  • 1899 - A disastrous tornado strikes the town of Dana, causing significant damage.
  • 1913 - The construction of the Clinton Power Station begins.
  • 1968 - The Clinton Power Station starts operating.
  • 1989 - The historic Clinton County Courthouse is destroyed by fire.
  • 2002 - The new Clinton County Courthouse is dedicated.