The first public school system in the United States was established in Indiana in 1852. The state was also home to the first kindergarten in the United States, which was founded in 1873 by a German immigrant named Margarethe Schurz.

Spencer County is a county located in the southwestern part of the state of Indiana, in the United States. It was established on January 10, 1818, and named after Captain Spier Spencer, who was killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe during the War of 1812. The county was originally part of the vast Indiana Territory before Indiana became a state.

Early settlement in Spencer County began in the early 1800s, with pioneers primarily coming from Kentucky, Virginia, and North Carolina. Agriculture soon became the main industry in the area, with farmers cultivating corn, wheat, and tobacco. The Ohio River, which borders the county to the south, served as an important transportation route for goods, enabling further economic growth.

One of the most well-known historical events associated with Spencer County is the fact that it was the childhood home of Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States. Lincoln's family moved to the area in 1816, when he was just seven years old. The Lincoln family lived in a log cabin in what is now Lincoln City. Today, the Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial is a popular tourist attraction, preserving the site where Lincoln spent his formative years.

Throughout its history, Spencer County has continued to develop and grow. Today, the county's economy relies on a variety of industries, including manufacturing, agriculture, and tourism. The county is home to several beautiful parks, recreational areas, and sites of historical significance, drawing visitors from across the country.

  • 1818 - Spencer County is established and named after Captain Spier Spencer, a soldier killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe.
  • 1819 - The county seat is established in the town of Rockport.
  • 1820 - The first courthouse is built in Rockport.
  • 1835 - Abraham Lincoln and his family move to Spencer County, where they settle near present-day Lincoln City.
  • 1844 - The second courthouse is built in Rockport.
  • 1858 - The third courthouse is built in Rockport.
  • 1861-1865 - Several men from Spencer County serve in the Union Army during the American Civil War.
  • 1914 - The current courthouse, known as the Spencer County Courthouse, is built in Rockport.
  • 1935 - Lincoln State Park is established near Lincoln City to honor Abraham Lincoln's time in Spencer County.
  • 1988 - The Abraham Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial is dedicated in Lincoln City.