The first European settlement in Indiana was established by the French in 1732 at Vincennes, in the southwestern part of the state.

Bartholomew County, located in the state of Indiana, has a rich history dating back to the early 19th century. The county was officially established on February 12, 1821, and was named after Joseph Bartholomew, a prominent figure in the Indiana territorial government. The land that would eventually become Bartholomew County was initially occupied by Native American tribes, primarily the Delaware and Shawnee.

The first European settlement in the area was established in 1820, when a group of pioneers led by John Lenn began building cabins along the Flatrock River. Over the next few decades, more settlers arrived, and the county quickly grew in population. The construction of the Whitewater Canal in the 1830s also played a significant role in the county's growth, promoting trade and industrial development.

The mid-19th century saw Bartholomew County expand its educational institutions and transportation networks. In 1846, the town of Columbus became the county seat, and it remains the largest city in the county today. The arrival of the railroad in the 1860s further stimulated economic activity, allowing for easier transportation of goods and people.

In the 20th century, Bartholomew County became known for its manufacturing industry, particularly in the automotive sector. The establishment of Cummins Inc., a leading engine manufacturer, in Columbus in 1919, significantly impacted the county's economy and brought job opportunities. Today, Bartholomew County continues to thrive as an industrious and culturally diverse community, preserving its historical landmarks and embracing progress.

  • 1821: Bartholomew County is established by an act of the Indiana General Assembly
  • 1821-1822: A commission is formed to locate the county seat, leading to the establishment of the town of Columbus
  • 1822: The first courthouse is built in Columbus
  • 1823: The first school is established in the county
  • 1834: The first newspaper, "The Democrat," is published in Columbus
  • 1836: The first bank, "The State Bank of Indiana," opens in Columbus
  • 1844: The first roller mill in the county is established
  • 1869: The Ohio and Mississippi Railway is completed, bringing increased transportation and commerce
  • 1871: The county fair is first organized
  • 1910: The Bartholomew County Courthouse is constructed after the previous one burns down
  • 1957: Cummins Inc., an international engine manufacturer, moves its headquarters to Columbus
  • 1973: The North Christian Church, designed by Eero Saarinen, is completed