Available on Amazon
The Illinois State Fair, which takes place annually in Springfield, is one of the oldest state fairs in the United States. The fair was first held in 1853 and features a variety of agricultural displays, carnival rides, and live entertainment.
DuPage County is a county located in the northeastern part of the state of Illinois, USA. The history of DuPage County dates back to the early 19th century when European settlers began to move into the area. The land was originally inhabited by Native American tribes such as the Potawatomi, but they were gradually displaced as more settlers arrived in the area.

The county was officially established in 1839, named after the DuPage River, which runs through the area. Initially, the economy of the county relied heavily on agriculture, with farmers cultivating crops such as wheat, corn, and oats. With the completion of the Galena and Chicago Union Railroad in 1849, transportation and trade became more accessible, leading to further economic growth in the county.

As the population grew, so did the need for infrastructure, schools, and government services. Towns and villages were established throughout the county, with Naperville being one of the largest and most prosperous. In the late 19th century, the county began to industrialize, with factories and manufacturing plants popping up in cities like Elmhurst and Lombard.

In the 20th century, DuPage County experienced rapid suburbanization and urban development. The county became a popular destination for families looking for a suburban lifestyle, with the construction of housing subdivisions and shopping centers. Today, DuPage County is known for its mix of residential, commercial, and industrial areas, as well as its numerous parks, forest preserves, and cultural attractions. It continues to be a major economic center in the Chicago metropolitan area.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of DuPage County, Illinois.

  • 1831: DuPage County is founded as part of Cook County.
  • 1839: DuPage separates from Cook County to become its own county.
  • 1849: Wheaton is chosen as the county seat.
  • 1850: The first public school is established in DuPage County.
  • 1852: The first railroad, Chicago and Galena Union, is built through the county.
  • 1893: Blackwell Forest Preserve becomes the first forest preserve in the county.
  • 1909: The first county highway is constructed in DuPage.
  • 1940: Population exceeds 100,000 residents.
  • 1967: O'Hare International Airport opens, located partly in DuPage County.
  • 1995: The Morton Arboretum becomes a National Historic Landmark.