Historical Marker in
Kossuth County, Iowa

Available on Amazon
The Amana Colonies, located in east-central Iowa, were founded by a group of German immigrants in the mid-1800s. The Amanas are known for their unique communal way of life and their production of high-quality furniture, textiles, and food products.
Kossuth County, Iowa has a rich history dating back to its establishment in 1851. The county was named after Lajos Kossuth, a Hungarian revolutionary hero. Originally, the land was occupied by the Dakota Sioux, Sac, and Fox tribes, but European settlers began to arrive in the mid-19th century.

As pioneers settled in the area, small farming communities began to form. The arrival of the railroad in the 1870s brought significant growth and prosperity to Kossuth County, connecting the region to larger markets and facilitating the transport of goods. Agriculture became the major industry, with corn and livestock farming dominating the landscape.

During the late 19th century, Kossuth County experienced a wave of immigration, particularly from Germany and Scandinavia. These settlers brought with them their rich cultural heritage, influencing the local traditions and customs that can still be seen today. The county seat, Algona, emerged as a vibrant town with a bustling downtown area featuring a courthouse, shops, and schools.

In the 20th century, Kossuth County faced challenges such as the Great Depression and the decline of small family farms. However, the community remained resilient and adapted to changing times. Today, Kossuth County is known for its strong agricultural economy, friendly communities, and beautiful natural scenery, including the scenic Des Moines River and numerous parks and trails for outdoor enthusiasts.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Kossuth County, Iowa.

  • 1847 - Kossuth County is established.
  • 1850 - The first settlers arrive in the county.
  • 1851 - The town of Algona is founded.
  • 1855 - Kossuth County's first courthouse is constructed.
  • 1860 - The population of Kossuth County reaches over 1,500.
  • 1863 - The town of Burt is incorporated.
  • 1870 - The railroad reaches Kossuth County, boosting its economy.
  • 1875 - The town of Swea City is established.
  • 1880 - German immigrants form a significant portion of the county's population.
  • 1890 - The town of Wesley is incorporated.
  • 1900 - Kossuth County's population exceeds 15,000.
  • 1913 - The county's first electric lights are installed in Algona.
  • 1920 - The town of Lakota is established.
  • 1930 - The Great Depression affects the county, causing economic hardship.
  • 1950 - The population of Kossuth County peaks at over 22,000.
  • 1965 - The Kossuth County Historical Society is founded.
  • 1970 - Agriculture remains the dominant industry in the county.
  • 1990 - The county experiences a decline in population due to changing agricultural practices.
  • 2000 - Kossuth County's population is around 17,000.