National Register Listings in
Montgomery County, Georgia

The largest land battle of the Civil War, the Battle of Chickamauga, took place in Georgia in 1863. Over 34,000 Union and Confederate soldiers were killed, wounded, or missing in the battle.
Montgomery County, Georgia, has a rich and diverse history that spans centuries. The area was originally inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Creek and the Hitchiti. European settlers arrived in the late 18th century, primarily from North Carolina and South Carolina.

Montgomery County was established on December 19, 1793, and was named after Revolutionary War General Richard Montgomery. The county was part of the original land cession made by the Creek Nation in the Treaty of New York in 1790. It rapidly grew, fueled by the establishment of cotton plantations and the arrival of slaves.

During the Civil War, Montgomery County experienced the devastating effects of the conflict. Many of the county's men enlisted in the Confederate Army, and the Battle of Batton's Crossroads was fought within its borders in 1864. After the war, the county struggled to recover from the economic and social disruptions caused by the conflict.

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Montgomery County went through significant changes. The construction of railroads brought new opportunities for trade and transportation. The town of Mount Vernon, established in 1852, became the county seat and a hub of economic activity. The county also saw advancements in education and infrastructure during this period.

Today, Montgomery County continues to be a rural community with a strong agricultural base. Its history is reflected in its historic sites, such as the Montgomery County Courthouse and the Batton's Crossroads Battlefield. The county continues to honor its past while also embracing the opportunities of the present and future.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Montgomery County, Georgia.

  • 1790 - Montgomery County is established on December 19th, as one of Georgia's original eight counties.
  • 1807 - The county seat is established in the town of Montgomery.
  • 1847 - Montgomery County is divided, with the western portion becoming Toombs County.
  • 1850 - Upland County is created from parts of Montgomery and Emanuel counties, but is later abolished in 1857.
  • 1861-1865 - Montgomery County residents serve in the Confederate Army during the American Civil War.
  • 1905 - The Central of Georgia Railway is extended through the county, stimulating economic growth.
  • 1941 - Montgomery County is further reduced in size when Wheeler County is formed.
  • 1954 - The county seat is relocated to Mount Vernon.
  • 1971 - Part of Montgomery County is used to create Treutlen County.